Friends & Family | 20% Storewide Savings use code FF20 »
Friends & Family | 20% Storewide Savings use code FF20 — Shop Now »

Few people are born with perfect hair. Frizzy hair, fine hair that looks flat and hair that’s simply hard to manage are common problems and can lead to more than a few “bad hair days.” For those days when your hair just won’t cooperate, Alterna has you covered. They’ve developed a line of hair styling products formulated to meet the needs of all hair types - from frizzy to flat. These hairstyling products not only enhance the appearance of hair, they condition and protect it from the environment. Could your hair use more body? Alterna Bamboo Volume Plumping Strand Expand is ideal for hair that could use an infusion of volume. It’s formulated with two key ingredients – maca root and bamboo extract – that add volume to hair without weighing it down. Hair feels instantly feels thicker and has more lift. For hair that’s frizzy and needs more shine, Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Polishing Serum smoothes hair cuticles with a light layer of silicone to give it incredible shine and brilliance. Find out what others are saying about this line of hair styling products by visiting the Alterna Hairstyling Reviews page.

Begin your exploration of the hair styling products by reading about the different products and their benefits. Then visit the Alterna Hairstyling Reviews page where other customers share their personal experiences with the products. The Alterna Hairstyling Reviews page is an additional resource you can use to choose the best styling products for your own hair.

  
Read More About Alterna Reviews »

« prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | next »
Sort results by:

HARDTOIMPRESS sac, ca Pros: pleasant fragrance, daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
experimenter
Age Group: 35-44Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: normal
a must have - 6/7/2012 12:54:03 AM wonderful product. leaves hair super smooth and so soft!
natsun Toronto, ON Pros: pleasant fragrance, daily use, very light! Cons: runs out quick
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
experimenter
Age Group: Under 25Gender: FHair Color: blackHair Type: damaged
J'ADORE! - 5/21/2012 4:20:47 AM i found this bamboo dry oil mist to be AWESOME!! it's smells absolutely fantastic and it doesn't weigh my hair down. My hair gets out of control if i don't tame it after i shower but with this oil mist, it really helps tame and defrizz it. It also takes away the hardness to my hair so essentially, it softens my hair. I love it! the only dissatisfaction is that it is probably meant for really thin hair but because my hair is regular (it's not exactly thick but it's definitely not thin) I can go through this product very quickly. But the price is quite reasonable (although size of bottle may be on the small side) so I don't mind buying more.
Jelly Phoenix Pros: pleasant fragrance Cons: dulls shine
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
productJunkietop50Contributor
Age Group: 45-54Gender: FHair Color: blondeHair Type: chemically treated
Not a fan - 4/23/2012 10:39:11 AM I love the Alterna Shampoo and Conditioners. I use this product when I want my style to last 2 days. While it helps hold the style, it makes my hair feel dirty, maybe a little sticky. It definately doesnt add shine. Once this is gone, I will buy something else.
skinshopper Ann Arbor, Mi Pros: pleasant fragrance Cons: weighs hair down, not effective
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
experimentertop100Contributor
Age Group: 35-44Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: chemically treated
Not even "better than nothing" - 3/14/2012 4:20:34 AM I've been using the alterna caviar shampoo and conditioner for a year now and really like them both. I thought I'd try this blowout creme, and purchased it with their blowout kit including an additional product. This creme did absolutely nothing for my hair, no body, no shine, no straightening-it's like I had used nothing at all. Maybe even worse as my hair got kinda limp and curly. This is the first time I've ever sent a product back to skinstore in my many years of shopping here.
abbcccd Manhattan,KS Pros: pleasant fragrance, daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
brandLoyalist
Age Group: Under 25Gender: FHair Color: blackHair Type: damaged
good product,will keep using it - 2/23/2012 1:49:07 PM My hair is damaged and dry, I use it before blow drying. It protects my hair from thermal heat and moisturizes it. I like it very much!!
Claudia2 Ohio Pros: pleasant fragrance, daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
experimenter
Age Group: 55+Gender: FHair Color: blondeHair Type: limp/fine/thin
Doesn't weigh your hair down. - 2/10/2012 5:53:17 AM I have fine, thin hair and this product works very well. It gives lift without stiffness and has a very pleasant smell
diamonds4me East Coast Pros: pleasant fragrance Cons: lift doesn't last long
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
brandLoyalisttop25Contributor
Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: chemically treated
Smells really nice, but..... - 2/1/2012 9:03:26 AM I had high hopes for the uplifting root blast, as I use a lot of Alterna products. Hower, I am disappointed that the minimal lift it provides just doesn't last very long -- an hour or so at best. The spray does smell really nice -- and I hope perhaps the product will be improved to provide more holding power!
alex50 new york, ny
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
brandLoyalisttop50Contributor
Age Group: 45-54Gender: FHair Color: blondeHair Type: damaged
Love it, but... - 1/20/2012 4:36:09 AM Loved this product; until I tried Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Polishing Serum (the CAVIAR product worked better for my hair). I gave the BAMBOO product to a friend who absolutely loves it. Give the BAMBOO a try, it is a superior shine product that is good for hair.
Val72484 Virginia Beach, VA Pros: daily use Cons: unpleasant fragrance
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
minimalist
Age Group: 25-34Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: normal
It's ok, but not great - 1/16/2012 7:38:47 AM It's not a bad product, I just don't feel it makes much of a difference. I have other products that protect my hair from blow-dry heat and simultaneously make it shiny. Like I said- it didn't hurt my hair, I just don't think it's worth the money.
Gardenia01 Georgia Cons: made my hair feel dry, made my hair sticky, unruly hair
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
brandLoyalist
Age Group: 55+Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: chemically treated
Love Alterna products, but not this one! - 12/31/2011 8:49:18 AM I am a big fan of Alterna Caviar Shampoo and Conditioner. I've also used the Alterna Creme nutritive gel and really liked it. My hair is color treated, fine, but fairly thick. It usually styles pretty easily and smoothly. After shampooing my hair and conditioning it with the Caviar shampoo and conditioner, I applied the volume cream for styling. My hair became dry and sticky as I blew dry my hair. When I attempted to style it with a brush, it became unruly. I had to then apply the tiny amount of Alterna nutritive creme gel that I had left in order to tame my now wild hair! I won't buy this Volume cream again!
« prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | next »

Additional Alterna Reviews Information

From gels to balms to styling mousses, Alterna has a formulation to enhance the natural beauty of your hair. These products are made to work without weighing hair down or feeling sticky or heavy. For hair that’s damaged and needs extra attention, Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Rapid Repair Spray infuses hair with a feather-light coating of moisture and nutrients to restore hair’s natural health and vibrancy. At the same time, it protects hair against damage from hot appliances and the environment. You can feel good about using Alterna’s line of hairstyling products. They contain natural ingredients that are certified organic, environmentally-friendly and ethically-traded. Unlike many hair care products, they’re free of petroleum products, sulfates, parabens, phthalates and artificial dyes. Even sensitive hair and scalps can benefit from this supremely natural line of products. Find out what others are saying about this line by visiting the Alterna Hair Styling Reviews page. Here, customers share their experiences with the products.

To access reviews on all of the products in the hairstyling line, click on the Alterna Hairstyling Reviews link on the introductory page. You can also access reviews on specific products by clicking on the “reviews” tab adjacent to the product description. Each review includes three product ratings based on ease-of-use, value and an overall product ranking. Each reviewer has included relevant information including their age, hair color and hair type so you can see how the products perform for people with hair similar to your own. For your convenience, you can sort the reviews based on publication date or by highest ranked products. Once you’ve experienced the products for yourself, please come back and leave Alterna Hairstyling Reviews of your own. By doing so, you’ll help others make their own product selections.

Sale — While They Last »
Smart Shopping — Beauty Center
Coconut Water – Key Ingredient
FREE Sun Damage Prevention Broad Spectrum SPF 30 100% Mineral Sunscreen ($20 Value). Details »
FREE Greek Yoghurt Moisturizing Face Cream ($9 Value). Details »
Skin Care Regimen »
2 steps to a new you — My Beauty Advisor

help

about

share

HACKER SAFE certified sites prevent over 99.9% of hacker crime.
BBBOnLine Reliability Seal
TRUSTe online privacy certification
Stella Service
SEE ALL    
SEE ALL