Gifts for Everyone! See our Holiday Gift Guide » Gifts for Everyone! See our Holiday Gift Guide »

Alterna reviews

Few people are born with hair that has natural volume and shine, but that doesn’t mean you can’t revitalize the hair you were born with. Some hair care products, especially shampoos, contain harsh chemicals that strip hair’s natural oil and make it look dull and lackluster – but not Alterna. This luxury brand formulates its advanced hair treatment products with cutting-edge ingredients like hemp, bamboo, caviar and Kendi oil, a natural oil rich in essential fatty acids and antioxidants. In addition, Alterna uses a special delivery system that speeds absorption of these ingredients into the hair shaft for maximum benefits. Do you color your hair? Alterna offers products that help hair retain color using a unique patented technology. Find out what other customers are saying about this line of hair care products by visiting the Alterna Reviews page.

Choosing hair care products can be challenging. So many hair products claim to be the best. Who should you believe? We created the Alterna Reviews page so you can get the feedback of shoppers who have used the products. On the Alterna Reviews page, shoppers share their experiences by writing reviews and rating the products.

What you DON’T put on your hair is important too. Alterna has formulated their products without unhealthy ingredients like mineral oil, petroleum products, PABA, sulfates, parabens, phthalates and synthetic dyes. In their place they use natural botanicals that enhance hair’s natural beauty. It’s an approach that’s better for hair, for your health and for the environment. Find out what other customers are saying by visiting the Alterna Reviews page.

You’re always a few clicks away from a “second opinion” at the Skin Store. We created the Alterna Reviews page so you can see how other shoppers rate the products and benefit from their reviews and comments. Each review includes three product ratings based on value, ease-of-use and a global product rating based on a five-star system. You’ll also find hints and tips about the products to that’ll help you maximize their benefits.

Read More About Alterna reviews »
Sort results by:
Overall Rating Overall Rating
Love it! -1/7/2008 9:23:44 PM I received a sample of this shampoo with an order. I could not believe how silky and shiny my hair was! I have very thick, curly, course hair that is very dry. It lathered well and left my hair feeling and looking great. I deducted one half star because of the very high price. But, a little does go a long way.
Overall Rating Overall Rating
Excellent! -3/15/2008 6:58:08 PM I'm so glad I received a sample of this shampoo. I'm very sensitive to scents and chemicals and cannot tolerate most perfumes, but this one did not bother me. I like the scent - not strong at all. It also worked wonders for my dry, wavy, frizz-prone hair. Lots of moisture without flattening my curls. Left my hair silky and shiny!
SisqB Northern California
experimentertop50Contributor Age Group: 55+Gender: FHair Color: redHair Type: chemically treated
Pros: maintains hair color
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Helps preserve color -12/3/2011 9:28:15 PM This is a very nice daily conditioner for color-treated hair. I have red colored hair which is notorious for fading and the Alterna products help keep the color longer. The more products of this line you use, the better the results.
Overall Rating Overall Rating
love it! -7/30/2007 2:52:57 PM My hair is fine, dry, and colored. It is difficult to find a shampoo that moisturizes without making my hair flat. I received this shampoo as a sample with purchase and absolutely love it. I was a Bumble and Bumble junkie before and the difference is amazing. My hair is so silky and shiny. Buy the conditioner too- they're both well worth the price!
Overall Rating Overall Rating
No Alternate for Alterna -8/9/2007 12:48:05 PM For some reason, I was 'blessed' to have natural curly hair. Prior to finding Alterna products, my hair was a frizzy afro-ball. I would personally recommend the Caviar Moisture Shampoo and Conditioner, Hemp Straightening Balm, Hemp Styling Mud, and the Hemp Sheer Pomade. All of the Alterna products lock in moisture, control frizz/humidity, and make my hair more manageable. In addition, I am grateful that the products repair my hair and lock in color. An added bonus is that I receive a million compliments a day. I am quite pleased to see that the Alterna products are drastically lower than the salon pricesthis exact same bottle of Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Shampoo would sell for $49.00 at a salon. ("Shhh, I hope that will just be our little secret").
Overall Rating Overall Rating
fabulous -8/31/2007 2:52:59 PM My hair is very thick and was coarse in texture. I tried the alterna shampoo first and loved it so much I bought the conditioner also. My hair is now really shiny and has lots of body -and I am over 50!!! Love, love, love it!
diamonds4me East Coast
brandLoyalisttop25Contributor Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: chemically treated
Pros: pleasant fragrance
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
-7/31/2011 11:11:13 AM The BAMBOO brillance cream is nice! It is light-weight and doesn't weigh down my hair. It is important not to use to much of this product -- a small amount of product is all you need. It does add shine, too!
diamonds4me East Coast
brandLoyalisttop25Contributor Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: chemically treated
Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Love this product!! -3/19/2011 10:03:05 AM I was concerned about using this product as I was concerned it would make my hair greasy and flat.This has not happened. My hair looks healthier and has shine. It also has a nice scent. It is replacing my Ojon Shine & Protect product which seemed heavier and had a not so appealing scent! Definitely worth trying!!
LisaPea Houston, TX
brandLoyalist Age Group: 45-54Gender: FHair Color: blondeHair Type: chemically treated
Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Pleasantly surprised -9/13/2010 12:30:20 PM I received a sample of Overnight Hair Rescue with my last order, so I thought I'd give it a try. The product is non-greasy and it smells wonderful. I put a dime size amount on my fingers and rubbed it through my hair. I've had my hair highlighted for years and as I get older, when I wake in the morning it looks like frizzy straw from rubbing on my pillow. The mornings after I use Hair Rescue, my hair looks shiny and more old lady straw hair for me!! : )
Alli Miami
productJunkie Age Group: 35-44Gender: FHair Color: blackHair Type: normal
Pros: pleasant fragrance, daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Worth every single penny -3/20/2009 7:54:28 AM I've never written any reviews but I must write one this time.I bought this duo because of all the goodness that it has to offer, but I got an extra bonus from using them. Not only my hair gets more bouncy and shine, this duo also minimizes hair shedding.I'll be forever loyal to this brand!!
Black Friday Specials | Save up 25% use code SPECIAL » Black Friday Specials | Save up 25% use code SPECIAL »

Additional Alterna Reviews Information

Alterna Reviews allow customers to see how other SkinStore shoppers rate Alterna products. Many different shoppers with varying needs and concerns have contributed to the collection of Alterna Reviews available on All kinds of information can be found that makes it easier for other customers who are trying to decide which products to purchase. For each Alterna Review, you will see an overall rating as well as a rating for price/value and ease of use.

Some Alterna Reviews offer additional information about what a customer liked or didn’t like about a specific product. Some customers elect to offer additional information regarding their age, gender specific hair type and color. All of this information can make it even easier for those browsing products and trying to decide what to purchase.

The list of reviews includes all products by Alterna including shampoos, conditioners, treatment products and styling aids. Since the volume of reviews may be considered high, taking advantage of the sorting options can be helpful. Customers can sort by date and also by ranking. Anyone who is interested in reading reviews for a particular Alterna product should direct his or herself to the product page where there is detailed information only about that specific product. You can read reviews for a particular Alterna Line or Product Type by clicking through to the line or product type you are interested in.

Are you ready to read some reviews and product ratings? If you’re on the introductory page, click on the Alterna Reviews link and start reading. For reviews on a specific product, go to the product description page and click on the “reviews” tab next to the product description. For convenience, you can sort reviews based on the date it was published or by highest ranked products. However you choose to sort them, you’ll find lots of useful information that’ll help you make smarter buying decisions.

SkinStore shoppers can contribute helpful information to fellow customers and participate in the SkinStore community by writing Alterna Reviews. Sharing information is a valuable way to learn and exchange knowledge. We encourage customers to write reviews for products they have used in order to help others make wise purchasing decisions for their specific needs and concerns. To write a review, simply go to the product page for the product you would like to review. Click on the link that says “Write a Review” and follow the instructions from there.

FREE Prevage & Elizabeth Arden Gift Set ($95 Value). Details »
Sale — While They Last »
Smart Shopping — Beauty Center
Cranberry – Key Ingredient
FREE Resveratrol [Lift] Firming Serum ($27 Value). Details »
Skin Care Regimen »
2 steps to a new you — My Beauty Advisor