Save $50 Storewide use code SAVE » Save $50 Storewide use code SAVE »

Alterna reviews

Few people are born with hair that has natural volume and shine, but that doesn’t mean you can’t revitalize the hair you were born with. Some hair care products, especially shampoos, contain harsh chemicals that strip hair’s natural oil and make it look dull and lackluster – but not Alterna. This luxury brand formulates its advanced hair treatment products with cutting-edge ingredients like hemp, bamboo, caviar and Kendi oil, a natural oil rich in essential fatty acids and antioxidants. In addition, Alterna uses a special delivery system that speeds absorption of these ingredients into the hair shaft for maximum benefits. Do you color your hair? Alterna offers products that help hair retain color using a unique patented technology. Find out what other customers are saying about this line of hair care products by visiting the Alterna Reviews page.

Choosing hair care products can be challenging. So many hair products claim to be the best. Who should you believe? We created the Alterna Reviews page so you can get the feedback of shoppers who have used the products. On the Alterna Reviews page, shoppers share their experiences by writing reviews and rating the products.

What you DON’T put on your hair is important too. Alterna has formulated their products without unhealthy ingredients like mineral oil, petroleum products, PABA, sulfates, parabens, phthalates and synthetic dyes. In their place they use natural botanicals that enhance hair’s natural beauty. It’s an approach that’s better for hair, for your health and for the environment. Find out what other customers are saying by visiting the Alterna Reviews page.

You’re always a few clicks away from a “second opinion” at the Skin Store. We created the Alterna Reviews page so you can see how other shoppers rate the products and benefit from their reviews and comments. Each review includes three product ratings based on value, ease-of-use and a global product rating based on a five-star system. You’ll also find hints and tips about the products to that’ll help you maximize their benefits.

Read More About Alterna reviews »
Sort results by:
next
nanny hoboken
productJunkietop250Contributor Age Group: 55+Gender: FHair Color: redHair Type: limp/fine/thin
Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, daily use, cnditons
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Another great product from Alterna -6/13/2015 4:06:23 AM this spray protects hair during heat processes.. I use it with my hot rollers. It does not weigh down my fine hair. Never disappointed with alterna!
Kaelin6551 Zionsville, IN
brandLoyalisttop250Contributor Age Group: 45-54Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: limp/fine/thin
Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, daily use, helps with hair growth, eady to apply
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Does what it claims to do! -6/8/2015 7:50:18 PM I love this exlixir - I have very fine long hair and I do whatever I can to keep it healthy as changes with age happen. I don't have any specific problems with hair loss, but I do notice that after using this daily for two months, I have had a noticeable increase in my hair length. I actually end up needing a trim before my scheduled appointment with my stylist. My hair also seems healthier, which I attribute to the scalp nourishing component. I just wish it came in a larger size.
Kaelin6551 Zionsville, IN
brandLoyalisttop250Contributor Age Group: 45-54Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: limp/fine/thin
Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, daily use, adds shine, doesn't weigh hair down, instantly dry, doesn't fade color
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Great for adding shine without the side effects -6/8/2015 7:41:08 PM I love Alterna products, and this no exception. I use this as the finishing touch to my hair and since it's a dry oil, it goes on easily and doesn't leave that wet, weighed-down appearance other oil mists have a tendency to do. My hair remains full of volume, has a healthy look and gives me the benefits of smoothing out stray hairs. My only wish: that it came in a larger size!
Independent
Age Group: 45-54Gender: FHair Color: blondeHair Type: damaged
Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, daily use, silky soft hair Cons: very expensive
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
The BEST product I've ever used! -5/28/2015 10:01:13 AM From the very first time I used this product my hair texture improved. I also bought the shampoo and hair spray... also the very best results I've ever had. I have long bleached blonde hair and style it every day so it takes a lot of abuse and these products are amazing! They are also very expensive so I waited to try them when the SkinStore was offering a 20% off coupon.
Kaelin6551 Zionsville, IN
brandLoyalisttop250Contributor Age Group: 45-54Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: limp/fine/thin
Pros: pleasant fragrance, daily use, easy to apply Cons: hair feels tacky while drying
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Good for Everyday Use -5/17/2015 7:40:17 AM I wash, dry and style my hair everyday, so I always use Alterna products that protect my hair from heat and color fading and give it shine and volume. I don't really have a problem with splint ends or lots of breakage, but my hair is long and fine (I wasn't blessed with thick hair). So, I decided to give this product a try to give my hair another advantage against the daily trials it goes through. This product sprays on and goes through my hair nicely. I've been using for about two weeks and just saw my stylist yesterday. She did say my hair looked a little less "rough" (I see her every 5 weeks). This made me think the product is making a difference - but I'm sure longer usage will give the true results. I do think that if your hair is prone to breakage this product would definitely help. Alterna hair care just can't be beat.
thoughtful mid CT
experimenter Age Group: 55+Gender: MHair Color: brunetteHair Type: normal
Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
love it -4/10/2015 5:16:48 PM I use this shampoo every day without any observable damage to my hair. On the contrary, this shampoo leaves my hair soft, and full, looking and feeling healthy.
ZULA Youngstown, OH
brandLoyalist Age Group: 55+Gender: FHair Color: blondeHair Type: normal
Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Amazing! -4/4/2015 7:14:54 AM This product is the only reason I can maintain a Level 10 Blonde. My hair is very long, and keeping that length would not be possible without using quality products. Yes, I have over fried my hair at times, but that is from experimenting with colors, and using higher percentage developers. Once hair is damaged beyond a point, nothing will restore denatured protein. However, to start healthy grow out from the scalp, Alterna Caviar Overnight Hair RESCUE, has strengthen my new hair, and it can tolerate the chemical abuse. The product fills in the hair shaft and allows me to enjoy long hair styles. Alterna Caviar Overnight Hair RESCUE also keeps my hair in great condition.
FreshFaced Iowa
productJunkie Age Group: 35-44Gender: FHair Color: blackHair Type: limp/fine/thin
Pros: daily use, little goes a long way
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
works nicely as a part of the overall system -4/3/2015 4:27:33 PM although this is pricier than i would like, i do feel that it works well with the scalp exfoliater and so i am happy to reccomend it. you don't need a lot because the shampoo is quite thick and a little lathers up a lot the actually delivery system in the bottle is also pretty sweet and ensures no wastage in the shower
CASF San Francisco
brandLoyalist Age Group: 55+Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: chemically treated
Pros: pleasant fragrance, daily use Cons: poorly designed spray bottle
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Good for scalp and hair -3/31/2015 2:49:21 PM Daily usage has helped scalp and helps hair to be softer and thicker. Alterna should redesign the spray component of the bottle. This is the 3rd bottle I've bought and the sprayer either doesn't work or has snapped off after the first use. I have to transfer the product to another bottle.
Redbynature Northern California
productJunkietop100Contributor Age Group: 55+Gender: FHair Color: redHair Type: chemically treated
Pros: efficient
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
best multi purpose styling cream -3/21/2015 7:10:41 AM This product replaces a light-hold gel/cream, argan oil, and/or silicone finisher. It's weightless in hair, and lasts a long time. If I could use only one styling product, this would be it! Have been using it for over a year, tried others, but always come back to it.
next
Shop Top–Rated Customer Picks » Shop Top–Rated Customer Picks »

Additional Alterna Reviews Information

Alterna Reviews allow customers to see how other SkinStore shoppers rate Alterna products. Many different shoppers with varying needs and concerns have contributed to the collection of Alterna Reviews available on SkinStore.com. All kinds of information can be found that makes it easier for other customers who are trying to decide which products to purchase. For each Alterna Review, you will see an overall rating as well as a rating for price/value and ease of use.

Some Alterna Reviews offer additional information about what a customer liked or didn’t like about a specific product. Some customers elect to offer additional information regarding their age, gender specific hair type and color. All of this information can make it even easier for those browsing products and trying to decide what to purchase.

The list of reviews includes all products by Alterna including shampoos, conditioners, treatment products and styling aids. Since the volume of reviews may be considered high, taking advantage of the sorting options can be helpful. Customers can sort by date and also by ranking. Anyone who is interested in reading reviews for a particular Alterna product should direct his or herself to the product page where there is detailed information only about that specific product. You can read reviews for a particular Alterna Line or Product Type by clicking through to the line or product type you are interested in.

Are you ready to read some reviews and product ratings? If you’re on the introductory page, click on the Alterna Reviews link and start reading. For reviews on a specific product, go to the product description page and click on the “reviews” tab next to the product description. For convenience, you can sort reviews based on the date it was published or by highest ranked products. However you choose to sort them, you’ll find lots of useful information that’ll help you make smarter buying decisions.

SkinStore shoppers can contribute helpful information to fellow customers and participate in the SkinStore community by writing Alterna Reviews. Sharing information is a valuable way to learn and exchange knowledge. We encourage customers to write reviews for products they have used in order to help others make wise purchasing decisions for their specific needs and concerns. To write a review, simply go to the product page for the product you would like to review. Click on the link that says “Write a Review” and follow the instructions from there.

FREE Favorites Duo ($24 Value). Details »
Sale — While They Last »
Smart Shopping — Beauty Center
Zinc Oxide – Key Ingredient
FREE Glycol Lactic Radiance Renewal Mask ($17 Value). Details »
Skin Care Regimen »
2 steps to a new you — My Beauty Advisor