Save $50 Storewide | use code GET50 — Details » Save $50 Storewide | use code GET50 — Details »

Alterna reviews

Few people are born with hair that has natural volume and shine, but that doesn’t mean you can’t revitalize the hair you were born with. Some hair care products, especially shampoos, contain harsh chemicals that strip hair’s natural oil and make it look dull and lackluster – but not Alterna. This luxury brand formulates its advanced hair treatment products with cutting-edge ingredients like hemp, bamboo, caviar and Kendi oil, a natural oil rich in essential fatty acids and antioxidants. In addition, Alterna uses a special delivery system that speeds absorption of these ingredients into the hair shaft for maximum benefits. Do you color your hair? Alterna offers products that help hair retain color using a unique patented technology. Find out what other customers are saying about this line of hair care products by visiting the Alterna Reviews page.

Choosing hair care products can be challenging. So many hair products claim to be the best. Who should you believe? We created the Alterna Reviews page so you can get the feedback of shoppers who have used the products. On the Alterna Reviews page, shoppers share their experiences by writing reviews and rating the products.

What you DON’T put on your hair is important too. Alterna has formulated their products without unhealthy ingredients like mineral oil, petroleum products, PABA, sulfates, parabens, phthalates and synthetic dyes. In their place they use natural botanicals that enhance hair’s natural beauty. It’s an approach that’s better for hair, for your health and for the environment. Find out what other customers are saying by visiting the Alterna Reviews page.

You’re always a few clicks away from a “second opinion” at the Skin Store. We created the Alterna Reviews page so you can see how other shoppers rate the products and benefit from their reviews and comments. Each review includes three product ratings based on value, ease-of-use and a global product rating based on a five-star system. You’ll also find hints and tips about the products to that’ll help you maximize their benefits.

Read More About Alterna reviews »
Sort results by:
prev next
courtneyrae968 Minneapolis, MN
productJunkie Age Group: 25-34Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: limp/fine/thin
Pros: daily use, non-sticky, adds volume, weightless
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
My go-to volume spray -9/13/2013 7:14:22 AM Due to an autoimmune disease, my hair is extremely fine and has thinned out considerably. I was very self concious about my hair until I found this product. Very volumizing, doesn't leave my hair sticky or hard. I just love it!
Belabia Sao Paulo, Brazil
minimalisttop250Contributor Age Group: 35-44Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: normal
Pros: pleasant fragrance
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
-9/1/2013 3:15:15 PM Amazing product!! I've only used with dry hair by now, and I'm really happy.. Hair is soft, shiny and beautiful. No weigh down, definetely. I'll try with wet hair too. If you're looking for something to boost shine, soften and perfume your hair, this is it. Not to mention the hidration it promotes! Happy purchase!!
Tweet Vancouver, BC
productJunkie Age Group: 55+Gender: FHair Color: blondeHair Type: limp/fine/thin
Pros: maintains hair color
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Bouncy hair the next day! -8/31/2013 12:59:54 PM This spray is great for natural looking volume. It is also great if you don't wash your hair the next day, as it doesn't weigh your hair down with anything sticky or waxy like some of the texturizing products. Love it for everyday use.
vlss
experimenter Age Group: 35-44Gender: M
Pros: all in one Cons: smell
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
it's ok but the smell -8/27/2013 9:32:58 AM it's a pretty good shampoo/body wash however the smell is what did it in for me. it's got a medicinal smell to it and it almost smells like a certain dandruff shampoo.
nynygal nyc
Age Group: 45-54Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: chemically treated
Pros: none Cons: expensive, dries out & damages hair
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Damaged my hair! -8/20/2013 5:05:27 AM I started using the Caviar Shampoo/Conditioner a few months ago. After a few weeks of use, I posted a very positive review for the shampoo. Now after a few months of use, it is anything but positive; My hair is severely dry, parched, straw-like & broken, which it has never been. The only difference in my routine has been my shampoo & conditioner. I do not know what ingredients could be causing this but my hair is damaged beyond belief. This is a very expensive line which I decided to splurge on. Not only am I out $60+, i have destroyed my hair.
Belabia Sao Paulo, Brazil
minimalisttop250Contributor Age Group: 35-44Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: normal
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Good product! -8/7/2013 3:10:15 PM I have wavy hair, and sometimes I just want to let it dry naturally. However, if I don't use any styling product, my hair becomes shapeless. This Alterna interested me, so I gave it a try. It is good, but not to let hair dry naturally, which was my primary need. My hair was weight down, and still shapeless. Then I tried to blow dry with a difuser, and it worked! Hair was soft, defined, and shiny! So,if you're looking for something that doesn't need to be used with heat, this is not for you. I'll keep up with this one, next time I'll try another one!
WhiteRose
experimenter Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: dry
Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Best I've Tried -7/24/2013 3:59:39 PM My hair was very dry and dull due to meds I take. Every time I needed shampoo and conditioner I would buy something different because nothing really helped. So when I came across Alterna I decided to give it a go. It made my hair so soft and so very silky, no more tangles. That was about 3 or 4 years ago and I keep coming back for more. Another amazing product is the Caviar Overnight Hair Rescue. Works so well with this set, I couldn't believe how beautiful my hair is. Even if you don't get this, or this set doesn't work for you, I still recommend the Hair Rescue.
ethicsandquality Norway
experimenter Age Group: 35-44Gender: FHair Color: blondeHair Type: curly
Overall Rating Overall Rating
Propylparaben -7/21/2013 4:46:33 PM Propylparaben is a preservative. Documented endocrine (hormone) disruption in animals. Banned in Denmark in body care products for children under three years. Standing on the EU list of endocrine disrupting substances.
ethicsandquality Norway
experimenter Age Group: 35-44Gender: FHair Color: blondeHair Type: curly
Cons: contains ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate
Overall Rating Overall Rating
Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate -7/21/2013 4:31:33 PM It's a UV filter with documented endocrine (hormone) disruption in animals. Standing on the EU list of endocrine disrupting substances.
Scarlett Richmond
productJunkie Age Group: 55+Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: curly
Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, daily use Cons: none
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Excellent for quick recovery of damaged hair -7/20/2013 4:26:50 AM I ordered this after I had a big screw up with over bleaching my hair. I am amazed at how this completely transforms my hair to beautiful healthy looking hair. Use with RX conditioner....you do not need a lot of either one. I use many Alterna products but this is my new favorite. Immediate results!
prev next
See Ultimate Solutions for Eyes » See Ultimate Solutions for Eyes »

Additional Alterna Reviews Information

Alterna Reviews allow customers to see how other SkinStore shoppers rate Alterna products. Many different shoppers with varying needs and concerns have contributed to the collection of Alterna Reviews available on SkinStore.com. All kinds of information can be found that makes it easier for other customers who are trying to decide which products to purchase. For each Alterna Review, you will see an overall rating as well as a rating for price/value and ease of use.

Some Alterna Reviews offer additional information about what a customer liked or didn’t like about a specific product. Some customers elect to offer additional information regarding their age, gender specific hair type and color. All of this information can make it even easier for those browsing products and trying to decide what to purchase.

The list of reviews includes all products by Alterna including shampoos, conditioners, treatment products and styling aids. Since the volume of reviews may be considered high, taking advantage of the sorting options can be helpful. Customers can sort by date and also by ranking. Anyone who is interested in reading reviews for a particular Alterna product should direct his or herself to the product page where there is detailed information only about that specific product. You can read reviews for a particular Alterna Line or Product Type by clicking through to the line or product type you are interested in.

Are you ready to read some reviews and product ratings? If you’re on the introductory page, click on the Alterna Reviews link and start reading. For reviews on a specific product, go to the product description page and click on the “reviews” tab next to the product description. For convenience, you can sort reviews based on the date it was published or by highest ranked products. However you choose to sort them, you’ll find lots of useful information that’ll help you make smarter buying decisions.

SkinStore shoppers can contribute helpful information to fellow customers and participate in the SkinStore community by writing Alterna Reviews. Sharing information is a valuable way to learn and exchange knowledge. We encourage customers to write reviews for products they have used in order to help others make wise purchasing decisions for their specific needs and concerns. To write a review, simply go to the product page for the product you would like to review. Click on the link that says “Write a Review” and follow the instructions from there.

FREE The Travel Set ($60 Value). Details »
Sale — While They Last »
Smart Shopping — Beauty Center
Sunflower – Key Ingredient
FREE Dermal Repair Cream ($21 Value. Details »
Skin Care Regimen »
2 steps to a new you — My Beauty Advisor