Save $10 to $50 | use code FALL » Save $10 to $50 | use code FALL »

Alterna Shampoos reviews

Hair is like a sponge, soaking up debris and pollutants from the environment. Plus, sebaceous glands on the scalp produce sebum, an oily substance that lubricates and protects hair. Unfortunately, sebum builds up, weighing hair down and causing it to look greasy unless you shampoo regularly. Some people produce more sebum than others. That’s why there are different shampoos to meet the needs of different hair types – from oily to dry. Alterna has developed a line of shampoos that does what a shampoo should do - remove sebum and dirt - without damaging or stripping hair of its essential moisture. No matter what your hair type, there’s an Alterna shampoo to enhance the natural beauty of your hair. What could be more frustrating than a head of frizzy, hard-to-manage hair? Frizz is no match for Alterna Bamboo Smooth Anti-Frizz Shampoo. This shampoo gently cleanses while hydrating and strengthening hair using a combination of organic bamboo extract and organic kendi oil. The result is hair that’s stronger, smoother and frizz-free. Find out what others are saying about this line of advanced shampoo by visiting the Alterna Shampoos Reviews page.

Being your exploration of the shampoos by reading about the different types and the benefits they offer. There are shampoos formulated to treat a variety of hair types and hair concerns. Then visit the Alterna Shampoos Reviews page where customers who have used these products share their experiences. The Alterna Shampoos Reviews page is an additional resource you can use to learn more about the products.

Read More About Alterna reviews »
Sort results by:
prev next
Overall Rating Overall Rating
awesome -5/18/2008 12:05:51 PM Love the shampoo it left my hair soft and manageable. I receive my order within a week and that is pretty good shipping since I live in the Northwest Territories, Canada. Will definitely order shampoos & conditioners from alterna again.
Overall Rating Overall Rating
Excellent! -3/15/2008 6:58:08 PM I'm so glad I received a sample of this shampoo. I'm very sensitive to scents and chemicals and cannot tolerate most perfumes, but this one did not bother me. I like the scent - not strong at all. It also worked wonders for my dry, wavy, frizz-prone hair. Lots of moisture without flattening my curls. Left my hair silky and shiny!
Overall Rating Overall Rating
GREAT!! -2/21/2008 7:09:58 AM I was soooo skeptical on this stuff. First, it's very expensive and I've tried everything, so how could this be that much better??!! But, took the chance since I'm 41 and have thinning hair. WOW! it's great!! I love it and will forever buy it!
Overall Rating Overall Rating
Love it! -1/7/2008 9:23:44 PM I received a sample of this shampoo with an order. I could not believe how silky and shiny my hair was! I have very thick, curly, course hair that is very dry. It lathered well and left my hair feeling and looking great. I deducted one half star because of the very high price. But, a little does go a long way.
Overall Rating Overall Rating
Nice shampoo, but -12/7/2007 6:28:42 AM It is highly perfumed and made me sniffle all day. I can't tolerate a lot of perfume.
Overall Rating Overall Rating
STRONGLY RECOMMENDED -10/19/2007 11:39:47 AM This product is ubelievably good. Leaves my hair very soft and silky. Even my 10 year old son said my hair look much much better. I just adore Ten products.
Overall Rating Overall Rating
Sulfate-free -9/19/2007 9:12:14 AM My hairstylist told me that I needed to switch to a sulfate-free shampoo if I wanted to put some life back in my dull hair. She recommended Alterna and Im glad she did. Ive tried a few of their products and Ive been really happy with all of them. I especially love the Ten shampoo. My hair hasn't looked this healthy in years.
Overall Rating Overall Rating
Love it! -9/19/2007 9:07:23 AM I love this shampoo and the conditioner as well. It leaves my hair so soft and shiny. The scent is a lovely bonus!
Overall Rating Overall Rating
fabulous -8/31/2007 2:52:59 PM My hair is very thick and was coarse in texture. I tried the alterna shampoo first and loved it so much I bought the conditioner also. My hair is now really shiny and has lots of body -and I am over 50!!! Love, love, love it!
Overall Rating Overall Rating
No Alternate for Alterna -8/9/2007 12:48:05 PM For some reason, I was 'blessed' to have natural curly hair. Prior to finding Alterna products, my hair was a frizzy afro-ball. I would personally recommend the Caviar Moisture Shampoo and Conditioner, Hemp Straightening Balm, Hemp Styling Mud, and the Hemp Sheer Pomade. All of the Alterna products lock in moisture, control frizz/humidity, and make my hair more manageable. In addition, I am grateful that the products repair my hair and lock in color. An added bonus is that I receive a million compliments a day. I am quite pleased to see that the Alterna products are drastically lower than the salon pricesthis exact same bottle of Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Shampoo would sell for $49.00 at a salon. ("Shhh, I hope that will just be our little secret").
prev next
Value Your Beauty | From Pretty Pennywise to Lovely Luxuries » Value Your Beauty | From Pretty Pennywise to Lovely Luxuries »

Additional Alterna Reviews Information

Color-treated hair has special needs. Sulfates in many shampoo products can cause even the most professionally-applied hair color to fade or change colors. Sulfate-free Alterna Bamboo UV Color Protection Vibrant Color Shampoo uses advanced Color Hold technology to protect color-treated hair and shield it against the sun. For hair that’s flat and lifeless, Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Body-Building Volume Shampoo gives hair a volume-lift that’s light-weight and movable, never stiff or sticky. When you’re in a hurry and don’t have time to shampoo, Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Dry Shampoo will reinvigorate and refresh your hair, giving it a fresh scent when you don’t have time to shampoo. It’s perfect for those days when you’re too busy to shampoo and blow dry. Find out what others are saying about this line of shampoos by visiting the Alterna Shampoos Reviews page. Here, customers share their personal experiences with the products.

To access reviews on all of the shampoos in the line, click on the Alterna Shampoos Reviews link on the introductory page. From here you’ll be taken to a growing list of reviews on the products. You can access reviews on a specific product directly from the product description page. Simply click on the “reviews” tab adjacent to the product description. Each reviewer has included information about their hair type, hair color and age so you can see how the products perform for people with hair similar to your own. For your convenience, you can sort reviews based on publication date or by highest ranked products. Once you’ve experienced the products for yourself, please return and leave Alterna Shampoos Reviews of your own. As always, we appreciate your feedback and reviews.

FREE Instant Firmx Eye ($19 Value). Details »
Sale — While They Last »
Smart Shopping — Beauty Center
Willowherb – Key Ingredient
FREE White Marble Duo ($18 Value). Details »
Skin Care Regimen »
2 steps to a new you — My Beauty Advisor