Save $50 Storewide | use code GET50 — Details » Save $50 Storewide | use code GET50 — Details »

Primers reviews

Sort results by:
prev next
Bicky
Pros: blends well, good consistency, good coverage, easy to remove, long lasting
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Multi use product! -11/30/2012 6:17:55 AM I too have oily skin which also translates to my eyelids. This product keeps my eye makeup in place all day. Not only is it a great eye makeup primer, but it is also a fabulous lip primer!! I have a problem with lipstick "feathering" around my lips, and this product prevents that from happening. Highly Recommend!!
pinkfluffy Malaysia
productJunkie Age Group: 25-34Gender: FHair Color: blackSkin Tone: lightEye Color: brown
Pros: blends well, good consistency, easy to remove Cons: fades easily
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Not great for oily lids -6/25/2012 1:56:55 AM I have very oily skin that translated to oily lids as well. So my eye makeup transfers and smudges really easily. This helped everything go on really smoothly, but didn't visibly enhance the colours. After a few hours, I noticed that my eyeliner still smudged and had started fading, my eyeshadow had started creasing. Don't think I'll repurchase as it doesn't have enough staying power for my skin.
Canberra, Australia
brandLoyalist Age Group: 35-44Gender: FHair Color: blondeSkin Tone: lightEye Color: blue
Cons: creases
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
So NOT a primer! -6/6/2012 11:57:32 PM Don't get me wrong, I LOVE Jane iredale products and have adored each one so far and I am gradually replacing all my other makeup with JI. But this product is just so NOT a primer! The product is very creamy in texture and shiny, almost pearlescent. It looks lovely on its own when you first put it on, like a pale pearly cream eye shadow. The problem is that it never 'sets' , it creases almost immediately and stays creamy. I have tried applying less, or more, with no better result. Unless you can go without blinking, by the time you get to put your eyeshadow on top, it has collected in the crease already! I don't get it - every primer I have ever used in any other brand has actually 'primed', or prepared the skin for application of other makeup to help it last - but this actually makes it worse. I would not recommend as a primer. I will continue to use what I have left just as a creamy eyeshadow. A bit of a shame, really.
Berta Chicago
brandLoyalist Age Group: 25-34Hair Color: blondeSkin Tone: lightEye Color: blue
Cons: creases
Overall Rating Overall Rating
Disappointed! -3/9/2012 5:12:10 PM I love the original product, but the pearl primer creases and has a little too much shimmer.
Donti16 Overland Park, KS
Age Group: 55+Gender: FHair Color: blondeSkin Tone: lightEye Color: blue
Pros: blends well, good consistency
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
good product, limited colors -1/1/2012 2:45:16 PM I recently purchased a super-powered magnifying mirror and started obsessing over the scaly skin on my upper eyelids. Every eye shadow base I tried left VERY visible creases. I like this product, it has a nice consistency and reduces the red appearance of my lids. I have purchased Phase One in both light and flesh. "Light" is almost white, while "flesh" looks a little yellow out of the tube. I mix the two, but wish they offered a better color selection.
Foolizhgirl
experimenter Age Group: Under 25Gender: FHair Color: blackSkin Tone: lightEye Color: brown
Pros: blends well, good consistency, long lasting
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
-12/20/2011 7:14:12 AM Best products for glitter! Love it! Highly recommend!
Katie88 Natick, MA
brandLoyalisttop1Contributor Age Group: Under 25Gender: FHair Color: blackSkin Tone: mediumEye Color: green
Pros: blends well, good consistency, easy to remove, long lasting, holds all glitter!
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Glitter lovers rejoice! -8/4/2011 8:17:43 AM This is a must have to those of you who use loose shadows that are high in glitter and pigment content. Yes, the product is a bit tacky when you apply it, but it disappears as soon as you apply your glitter shadow. I have had no problems blending. With this primer, I suggest a "dabbing" method as oppose to swiping. Once the primer is covered, it is very easy to blend. This product is for loose powders with high pigment/glitter content. It is meant to GLUE (which is why it is tacky) the glitter in place. If you are looking for staying power/crease control for normal shadows, I suggest going with a more traditional primer. This is excellent for high pigmented, glittery shadows (which I'm sure most of us own!) Highly recommend.
Katie88 Natick, MA
brandLoyalisttop1Contributor Age Group: Under 25Gender: FHair Color: blackSkin Tone: mediumEye Color: green
Pros: blends well, good consistency, good coverage, easy to remove, long lasting, makes shadow pop!
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
candlelight is perfect! -8/3/2011 6:20:28 PM I have this in both shades and I like this one the best. I can use this by itself, with no shadow over it. It looks like a very light iridescent gold. Brightens my eyes and shows off the green in my hazel eyes! Under makeup, it keeps my shadow, liner and mascara in place better than anything else I've tried. Love it.
Katie88 Natick, MA
brandLoyalisttop1Contributor Age Group: Under 25Gender: FHair Color: blackSkin Tone: mediumEye Color: green
Pros: blends well, good consistency, good coverage, long lasting
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Overall a good primer -8/3/2011 5:53:41 PM Kept the eyeshadow in place and no creasing. Light and you only need a little bit. Don't know that I like it more than what I was using but definitely worth the price.
Debdodad Wichita, KS
experimenter Age Group: 55+Gender: FHair Color: blondeSkin Tone: mediumEye Color: blue grey
Pros: blends well, good consistency, good coverage, easy to remove, long lasting
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Great makeup basic -7/23/2011 7:35:59 AM A base for your eye makeup is important to use in order to keep it looking fresh and last all day. The Elizabeth Arden Advanced Eye Fix Primer has been my choice for over 5 years. Very little is needed to cover the eyelid, so the tube lasts quite a long time. It is never greasy, thick or cakey and applies nearly invisibly. It will continue to be my choice.
prev next
See Ultimate Solutions for Eyes » See Ultimate Solutions for Eyes »
FREE The Travel Set ($60 Value). Details »
Sale — While They Last »
Smart Shopping — Beauty Center
Sunflower – Key Ingredient
FREE Dermal Repair Cream ($21 Value. Details »
Skin Care Regimen »
2 steps to a new you — My Beauty Advisor