Save 20% Storewide use code SUM20 — Details » Save 20% Storewide use code SUM20 — Details »

Self Tanners reviews

Sort results by:
prev next
Oregon
experimenter Age Group: 45-54Skin Type: combination
Pros: absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance, gentle, lightweight, smooth texture, no 'typical"odor like all the other self tanners!
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Finally a great self tanner! -8/14/2011 9:51:50 PM This is the best stuff! I have tried many self tanners and they ALL have that distinctive smell. My husband hated it more than I! I always tossed them out. This one is the first ever that does NOT have that smell......I love it! Would pay double just for that quality. It is smooth and light....love it. Good bye electric beach!
Katie88 Natick, MA
productJunkietop1Contributor Age Group: Under 25Gender: FSkin Type: combination
Pros: absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance, gentle, lightweight
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
awwwesome faux tanner! -8/5/2011 7:23:09 AM This stuff is really easy to apply actually being the self tanner junkie that I am.. I have tried ALL of them and when I say all I literally mean them all.. Ihave very pale skin and this really gives a amazing color.. although if you dont wash it off your hands well it WILL stain them very bad so dont forget to wash hands!! Otherwise I highly recommend for dark, carribean color!!
gramsey
productJunkie Age Group: 55+Gender: FSkin Type: normal
Pros: absorbs quickly, lightweight, easy to target your application
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
easy to use -7/24/2011 8:46:58 PM This product is easy to apply, you can avoid over tanning age spots, etc.and reapply to pale areas.
AnneS Minneapolis, MN
productJunkie Age Group: 25-34Gender: FSkin Type: combination
Pros: absorbs quickly, gentle, natural color
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Sample Turned Favorite! -7/5/2011 9:48:39 AM I received this product as a sample, and was SO happy with the results that I've placed my second refill order for them! I have very fair skin, and the color adapts well to my skin tone. I apply before bed and wake up with a nice tan. Since using the product, I've received several compliments on my complexion... Very worth it!
BrePBG Palm Beach, FL
productJunkie Age Group: 25-34Gender: FSkin Type: combination
Pros: absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance, gentle, lightweight, smooth texture
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
PLEASANTLY SURPRISED (YAY!) -6/28/2011 8:41:37 PM So I am fair-skinned with light freckles and some redness in my tone so I have tried many self-tanners as everyone knows a tan will help to even out your skin tone. Well, the problem is with someone who is naturally very fair and has no base tan whatsoever, a lot of tanners can look orange or fake. OR the products smell awful. This product was super easy to apply and I love that it's colored so you can see where you put it. I take a shower wash & exfoliate my face and then apply the tanner before bed... in the morning I wake up with even skin tone with a healthy glow. I loooove Arcona skincare for my combination/acne skin and now I'm beyond pleased that they have a self-tanner too so I don't need to worry about a different product line screwing up all the progress I've made. Thanks Arcona!
Saint Francisville, La
brandLoyalist Age Group: 25-34Gender: FSkin Type: sensitive
Pros: absorbs quickly, gentle, smooth texture, dries quickly, great price, not orange, leaves skin very moisturized for days after use Cons: a little messy, color guide is slighty smelly after it dries, the gloves are pitiful!!! lol
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Fake Bake Finatic!! -5/24/2011 9:32:45 AM I had never heard of fake bake until two weeks ago. My cousin had me try it, and let me tell you, I am now hooked. Never in my life have I had people tell me, "You're so tan YOU MAKE ME SICK!!!" and "Where have you been? You're so dark!!!" I've always been the one with the "tan envy." Lol. All these compliments and comments were made after only two applications. I have naturally fair skin with pink undertones, but I do tan very very well in the sun as well as tanning beds; but why damage your skin and look all wrinkly when you can use fake bake, the BEST STUFF EVER. It's a wee bit messy, but that is to be expected, in my opinion. Can you really expect to have a dark cocoa colored product and not spill at least one drop? Didn't think so. It absorbs fairly quickly, but after the color guide dries, it's a little bit stinky... the "self-tanner" smell; but it's not NEARLY as harsh as other products, as it contains only one natural preservative, and it's very apparent when you get a whiff because it's not nearly as offensive. The offending smell goes down the drain with the color guide after your shower, and you're left with gorgeous, glowing, moisturized, and luxuriously tanned skin. That brings me to another point. The moisturizing capabilities of this product are simply amazing. After my shower, I'm always silky smooth and literally glowing from within. If you haven't tried this, what the heck are you waiting for? Just be sure to by some better gloves because the ones provided by fake bake are just pitiful lol. Every time I've applied fake bake, I've torn gloves. Even though they insist on using gloves, I tend to not since they just rip anyway. After application I wash my hands with bar soap and a washcloth; I rub vigorously and I'm left with normal colored palms!
Kikilis New York
experimenter Age Group: 25-34Gender: FSkin Type: combination
Pros: absorbs quickly, gentle, lightweight Cons: the wipes are only big enough for use on face
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Debunks Self Tanner Stereotypes -5/22/2011 5:44:20 PM I received this product as a free sample at first, and after only one use, I was hooked! I usually hate self tanners for their smell, streakiness, unnatural color, and the fact that they make me break out. However, this product had a much more pleasant odor, gave me a natural looking tan, and was not streaky at all. I also liked the additional benefits that it contained antioxidants and AHA's. I only wish that they made this product in a larger size so that I could use it everywhere!
Popelka Chapel Hill, nC
brandLoyalist Age Group: 25-34Gender: FSkin Type: normal
Pros: pleasant fragrance Cons: works overnight
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Number one in London -5/18/2011 8:02:44 PM I've lived in London for the last ten years, and Fake Bake is honestly the number one brand for tanning in the high-end salons there (usually the esthetician exfoliates you and lathers it on for you.) I have dark hair, but fair skin that tans only after a burn, so this has been my go to brand for the last five years or so - and several of my friends used it for their weddings, too. It gives a great brown tan. I've also liked St Tropez, but most other brands make me too yellow or orange. When I moved back to the US, I could not find a salon near me that uses Fake Bake, so I just got the bottle. Note: in the salons, they apply this and tell you to sleep in dark clothes in the stuff overnight, and not to wash until the next morning. If you do that, the color is deep and beautiful, and once you shower, it no longer comes off on clothes. If you repeat the application twice, you get a really dark tan. Worth it in my opinion, though you need a friend to do your back and you should use gloves. The extender products are also very good quality, smell nice, and parabens free.
Salvo Switzerland
productJunkietop25Contributor Age Group: 45-54Gender: MSkin Type: oily
Pros: absorbs quickly, lightweight, smooth texture
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Excellent self tanner -5/10/2011 11:35:26 PM Dear all, this an excellent self tanner and peeling at the same time, you can feel the peel effect while its on your skin. Please note, it is not for sensitive skin type. I only let it on for about two hours, since it is working well and a great color shows within a short time. You can regulate the intensity of color by yourself. I do it once every two weeks and the color lasts, even using md forte glycolic 20% every evening. Regards, Salvo
rgbmd1 mid-west
productJunkie Age Group: 55+Gender: FSkin Type: combination
Pros: absorbs quickly, great color
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Perfect color, great for skin -4/15/2011 5:40:09 AM I have been searching for a facial self tanner. I use Retin-A and could not figure out how to use a self tanner that would accomodate exfoliating my skin as well. This is the perfect product! It is easy to use and adjust the amount of color you want to develop, it is good for your skin. It isn't heavy or moisturizing which is a good thing. I can use my own moisturizing products when I need them. Buy this!!
prev next
The Summer Forecast is in | g2g » The Summer Forecast is in | g2g »
FREE Youth Complex ($60 Value). Details »
Now only $99 | Clarisonic Pedi. Get Yours »
FREE True Isaac Mizrahi FULL SIZE Sheer Lip Shine ($18 Value). Details »
Skin Care Regimen »
2 steps to a new you — My Beauty Advisor