Save $50 Storewide use code SAVE » Save $50 Storewide use code SAVE »

Few people are born with perfect hair. Frizzy hair, fine hair that looks flat and hair that’s simply hard to manage are common problems and can lead to more than a few “bad hair days.” For those days when your hair just won’t cooperate, Alterna has you covered. They’ve developed a line of hair styling products formulated to meet the needs of all hair types - from frizzy to flat. These hairstyling products not only enhance the appearance of hair, they condition and protect it from the environment. Could your hair use more body? Alterna Bamboo Volume Plumping Strand Expand is ideal for hair that could use an infusion of volume. It’s formulated with two key ingredients – maca root and bamboo extract – that add volume to hair without weighing it down. Hair feels instantly feels thicker and has more lift. For hair that’s frizzy and needs more shine, Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Polishing Serum smoothes hair cuticles with a light layer of silicone to give it incredible shine and brilliance. Find out what others are saying about this line of hair styling products by visiting the Alterna Hairstyling Reviews page.

Begin your exploration of the hair styling products by reading about the different products and their benefits. Then visit the Alterna Hairstyling Reviews page where other customers share their personal experiences with the products. The Alterna Hairstyling Reviews page is an additional resource you can use to choose the best styling products for your own hair.

Read More About Alterna reviews »
Sort results by:
prev next
Belabia Sao Paulo, Brazil
minimalisttop250Contributor Age Group: 35-44Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: normal
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Good product! -8/7/2013 3:10:15 PM I have wavy hair, and sometimes I just want to let it dry naturally. However, if I don't use any styling product, my hair becomes shapeless. This Alterna interested me, so I gave it a try. It is good, but not to let hair dry naturally, which was my primary need. My hair was weight down, and still shapeless. Then I tried to blow dry with a difuser, and it worked! Hair was soft, defined, and shiny! So,if you're looking for something that doesn't need to be used with heat, this is not for you. I'll keep up with this one, next time I'll try another one!
ethicsandquality Norway
experimenter Age Group: 35-44Gender: FHair Color: blondeHair Type: curly
Overall Rating Overall Rating
Propylparaben -7/21/2013 4:46:33 PM Propylparaben is a preservative. Documented endocrine (hormone) disruption in animals. Banned in Denmark in body care products for children under three years. Standing on the EU list of endocrine disrupting substances.
Maggiej Poughkeepsie, NY
productJunkie Age Group: 55+Gender: FHair Color: blondeHair Type: curly
Pros: pleasant fragrance
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Love this product line -7/17/2013 1:39:10 AM I have very fine, curly, frizzy hair. Most products weigh it down. Five minutes in damp morning air or a rainy day and all my styling efforts are wasted. The Pin Straight controls the frizz and will extend my style. It is not a heavy cream, which I like. I use it with a flat iron, or just blowing it out with a brush and even when I wear my curls. It controls the frizz. It is not a magic potion, I haven't found one yet, but it is a great product. Love the shampoo and conditioner as well.
Gerijane
productJunkie Age Group: 45-54Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: chemically treated
Pros: pleasant fragrance, eliminates frizz, helps mosturize
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
treatment extraordinaire -5/29/2013 5:38:34 AM I decided to try this product on a whim and I am so glad I did. It is by far the best hair treatment to come along in a long time. Makes your hair look and feel great without weighing it down. I will definitely buy it again.
slavedangel New Orleans LA
brandLoyalist Age Group: 35-44Gender: FHair Color: blondeHair Type: chemically treated
Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, daily use, doesn't flake when using styling irons daily, keeps my curls: tight yet soft / smooth / shiny, hot water activates this product for better use, spray lighty water run fingers through hair, styling complete use prod w/ water passover hair.., ..to calm down any wild hairs, color treated hair this prod doesn't dry hair out
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Loyal Alterna User-Hemp Creme for 20yrs + LOVE IT! -5/23/2013 5:14:14 AM Originally I used the Alterna Hemp Texturizing Glaze for 20yrs. Then recently in the last 2 yrs they changed it to Alterna Bamboo Creme. I still love the product yet I think the Alterna Bamboo Creme could be a little less thick.
grandmapat
brandLoyalist Age Group: 55+Gender: FHair Color: greyHair Type: normal
Pros: pleasant fragrance
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
GOOD STUFF -4/13/2013 6:48:25 AM I like this very much. Lightweight and yet holds the hair firm and gives volume
anioleczek1 Ridgewood New York
brandLoyalist Age Group: 25-34Gender: FHair Color: blondeHair Type: curly
Pros: daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
The best cream -3/30/2013 4:08:43 PM This cream is really the best.I have a wavy hair and makes my hair curly.Is very lightly and very simple use it for damp or dry hair.I try many but finally I find my favorites.I really recommended this product
AJAO Round Hill, VA
experimenter Age Group: 35-44Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: limp/fine/thin
Pros: daily use, easy to use, not sticky, awesome volume
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
BEST volume EVER! -2/10/2013 6:10:03 AM I have shoulder length hair that is fine and color treated. I've tried just about every volumizer out there-- from super pricey to drugstore, and this is the best hands down! I am on my third bottle. The key is that you must use it liberally and you must BLOW DRY your hair or it won't work properly. If you plan to air dry, don't bother with this one! This keeps my hair full and bouncey for 2 days, and its never sticky or stiff. Love it!!!!
Toto Minneapolis MN
brandLoyalist Age Group: 45-54Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: chemically treated
Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
-11/15/2012 9:30:46 PM Keeps my hair soft. Makes comb out easy for long hair after shower.
UpNorth8 Minnesota
minimalist Age Group: 45-54Gender: FHair Color: blondeHair Type: limp/fine/thin
Pros: pleasant fragrance
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Causes major static -10/16/2012 2:57:11 PM My hair is blond, long and fine and falls past my shoulders. I've always been interested in products that are supposed to amp up the volume. My hair is in very good condition as I don't use heat styling or brushes and rarely blow dry, so I was surprised this product caused major static and fly away. I tried it several ways, I sprayed it on damp, combed hair and then let it dry naturally. I repeated the next day and used it exactly as directed and blow dried it, I also tried it on dry hair, and each time it was a no-good. I have to return this considering how pricey it is.
prev next
Shop Top–Rated Customer Picks » Shop Top–Rated Customer Picks »

Additional Alterna Reviews Information

From gels to balms to styling mousses, Alterna has a formulation to enhance the natural beauty of your hair. These products are made to work without weighing hair down or feeling sticky or heavy. For hair that’s damaged and needs extra attention, Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Rapid Repair Spray infuses hair with a feather-light coating of moisture and nutrients to restore hair’s natural health and vibrancy. At the same time, it protects hair against damage from hot appliances and the environment. You can feel good about using Alterna’s line of hairstyling products. They contain natural ingredients that are certified organic, environmentally-friendly and ethically-traded. Unlike many hair care products, they’re free of petroleum products, sulfates, parabens, phthalates and artificial dyes. Even sensitive hair and scalps can benefit from this supremely natural line of products. Find out what others are saying about this line by visiting the Alterna Hair Styling Reviews page. Here, customers share their experiences with the products.

To access reviews on all of the products in the hairstyling line, click on the Alterna Hairstyling Reviews link on the introductory page. You can also access reviews on specific products by clicking on the “reviews” tab adjacent to the product description. Each review includes three product ratings based on ease-of-use, value and an overall product ranking. Each reviewer has included relevant information including their age, hair color and hair type so you can see how the products perform for people with hair similar to your own. For your convenience, you can sort the reviews based on publication date or by highest ranked products. Once you’ve experienced the products for yourself, please come back and leave Alterna Hairstyling Reviews of your own. By doing so, you’ll help others make their own product selections.

FREE Defy Age Management Exfoliator ($22 Value). Details »
Sale — While They Last »
Smart Shopping — Beauty Center
Ribes Nigrum – Key Ingredient
FREE Glow Overnight Resurfacing Serum ($12 Value). Details »
Skin Care Regimen »
2 steps to a new you — My Beauty Advisor