Save 20% Storewide use code BEAUTY20 | Details »
Beauty S.O.S. | Shop Our Solutions »

Few people are born with perfect hair. Frizzy hair, fine hair that looks flat and hair that’s simply hard to manage are common problems and can lead to more than a few “bad hair days.” For those days when your hair just won’t cooperate, Alterna has you covered. They’ve developed a line of hair styling products formulated to meet the needs of all hair types - from frizzy to flat. These hairstyling products not only enhance the appearance of hair, they condition and protect it from the environment. Could your hair use more body? Alterna Bamboo Volume Plumping Strand Expand is ideal for hair that could use an infusion of volume. It’s formulated with two key ingredients – maca root and bamboo extract – that add volume to hair without weighing it down. Hair feels instantly feels thicker and has more lift. For hair that’s frizzy and needs more shine, Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Polishing Serum smoothes hair cuticles with a light layer of silicone to give it incredible shine and brilliance. Find out what others are saying about this line of hair styling products by visiting the Alterna Hairstyling Reviews page.

Begin your exploration of the hair styling products by reading about the different products and their benefits. Then visit the Alterna Hairstyling Reviews page where other customers share their personal experiences with the products. The Alterna Hairstyling Reviews page is an additional resource you can use to choose the best styling products for your own hair.

  
Read More About Alterna Reviews »

« prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | next »
Sort results by:

diamonds4me East Coast Pros: pleasant fragrance
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
brandLoyalisttop25Contributor
Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: chemically treated
- 7/31/2011 11:11:13 AM The BAMBOO brillance cream is nice! It is light-weight and doesn't weigh down my hair. It is important not to use to much of this product -- a small amount of product is all you need. It does add shine, too!
nobska19 Washington, DC Pros: pleasant fragrance, daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
productJunkietop10Contributor
Age Group: 25-34Gender: FHair Color: redHair Type: curly
not sticky but not a hairspray - 7/21/2011 10:47:24 PM I really like this root upblast product for 2nd day hair when the roots have fallen flat. It gives an instant boost, smells lovely, and isn't even in the slightest bit sticky or stiff like hairspray. That said, it also doesn't last as long as hairspray; or at least it can't compete with the high humidity and heat of mid-summer in Washington, DC. It seems to lose its effect after about 4-6 hours in this weather, but I have faith that in cooler times of year the wear will be longer. However, I still really like this product because it really isn't sticky or stiff and just gives enough lift for hair to look fresh. And it smells lovely!
texasdoglover Houston Pros: pleasant fragrance, daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
productJunkie
Age Group: 45-54Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: normal
Love love love it - 7/15/2011 7:31:27 AM I rarely color my hair and my texture is pretty normal. But I love this stuff. It smells great, makes it easy to comb your hair after washing and gives it a sheen.
Redbynature Northern California Pros: leaves hair soft, only need a little, long-lasting body, little build up Cons: none that i've found
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
productJunkietop100Contributor
Age Group: 55+Gender: FHair Color: redHair Type: chemically treated
best volumizing styling cream - 6/27/2011 10:08:33 PM I'm a hair product junkie, having tried many styling products to manage my wavy/slightly frizzy, fine hair. So I wasn't expecting this would be much better or worse than others, but I was almost out of my old product. Wrong! From day one, I've loved this styling cream. I only wash my hair every three-four days, but my hair doesn't go limp after day one as it has done with other volumzing products. Love it!
394ever Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, daily use, adds body
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use

Love it! - 3/23/2011 12:20:47 PM I finally found a protective styling product that does not weigh my hair down! It actually gives my hair body and bounce! Doesn't build up on my hair either. Every use I get the same amazing results! I use with Alterna volume anti-aging hair shampoo and conditioner. All wonderful products! Love this stuff!
diamonds4me East Coast Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
brandLoyalisttop25Contributor
Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: chemically treated
Love this product!! - 3/19/2011 10:03:05 AM I was concerned about using this product as I was concerned it would make my hair greasy and flat.This has not happened. My hair looks healthier and has shine. It also has a nice scent. It is replacing my Ojon Shine & Protect product which seemed heavier and had a not so appealing scent! Definitely worth trying!!
alex50 new york, ny
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
brandLoyalisttop50Contributor
Age Group: 45-54Gender: FHair Color: blondeHair Type: damaged
Neutral - 3/5/2011 10:03:25 AM I seemed to get no benefit from this product, I am addicted to ALTERNA Caviar products, but this product did nothing positive or negative, so I gave it to a friend with different hair to try.
Share MA Pros: pleasant fragrance
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
experimenter
Age Group: 55+Gender: FHair Color: greyHair Type: limp/fine/thin
my hair actually looked thicker - 2/8/2011 10:42:38 AM I have been trying all kinds of treatments for my thinning hair. I am currently 66 and my hair is white. I tried the Kendi dry oil mist after shampooing without using a conditioner, I must say it was hard to comb out and my hair did looked thicker after drying. I also tried it on my mother who is 90 and I thought her hair looked fuller. Having problems with frizzy hair the next day my hair was still shiny and smooth. I think I will try the shampoo next.
frannyg Indianapolis, IN Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, daily use, straightens frizzy hair
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
brandLoyalist
Age Group: 55+Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: damaged
Works Like Advertised! - 1/16/2011 6:30:41 AM I have only used this for a week, but I have gotten perfect results every time. It has taken away the frizz, straightened even my stubborn "cowlicks", and I don't have the wild static-electricity hairs standing up in random spots. It has cured all of those each time and has shortened my styling time considerably. I will follow up with results on long-term strengthening results when I see them.
nobska19 Washington, DC Pros: pleasant fragrance, daily use, anti-frizz, glossing
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
productJunkietop10Contributor
Age Group: 25-34Gender: FHair Color: redHair Type: curly
terrific finishing spray - 11/14/2010 2:44:58 AM I used to use Frederic Fekkai's glossing mist as my finishing spray after styling my fine, very curly hair to add shine and tame fly-aways. I always hated the scent of that product, though. This spray smells delicious and works even better to tame frizz/fly-aways on dry hair (which is when I use it). I will never go back to Fekkai's product (although I suppose I should finish the bottle that I have of it); this is my new finishing spray for sure. Great gloss without weighing down my hair.
« prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | next »

Additional Alterna Reviews Information

From gels to balms to styling mousses, Alterna has a formulation to enhance the natural beauty of your hair. These products are made to work without weighing hair down or feeling sticky or heavy. For hair that’s damaged and needs extra attention, Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Rapid Repair Spray infuses hair with a feather-light coating of moisture and nutrients to restore hair’s natural health and vibrancy. At the same time, it protects hair against damage from hot appliances and the environment. You can feel good about using Alterna’s line of hairstyling products. They contain natural ingredients that are certified organic, environmentally-friendly and ethically-traded. Unlike many hair care products, they’re free of petroleum products, sulfates, parabens, phthalates and artificial dyes. Even sensitive hair and scalps can benefit from this supremely natural line of products. Find out what others are saying about this line by visiting the Alterna Hair Styling Reviews page. Here, customers share their experiences with the products.

To access reviews on all of the products in the hairstyling line, click on the Alterna Hairstyling Reviews link on the introductory page. You can also access reviews on specific products by clicking on the “reviews” tab adjacent to the product description. Each review includes three product ratings based on ease-of-use, value and an overall product ranking. Each reviewer has included relevant information including their age, hair color and hair type so you can see how the products perform for people with hair similar to your own. For your convenience, you can sort the reviews based on publication date or by highest ranked products. Once you’ve experienced the products for yourself, please come back and leave Alterna Hairstyling Reviews of your own. By doing so, you’ll help others make their own product selections.

25% off butter LONDON use code butter25 »
FREE Vinoperfect Radiance Serum ($26 Value). Details »
FREE Full Blown Volume Set ($10 Value). Details »
Skin Care Regimen »
2 steps to a new you — My Beauty Advisor

help

about

share

HACKER SAFE certified sites prevent over 99.9% of hacker crime.
BBBOnLine Reliability Seal
TRUSTe online privacy certification
Stella Service
SEE ALL    
SEE ALL