Save $50 Storewide | use code GET50 — Details » Save $50 Storewide | use code GET50 — Details »

Few people are born with perfect hair. Frizzy hair, fine hair that looks flat and hair that’s simply hard to manage are common problems and can lead to more than a few “bad hair days.” For those days when your hair just won’t cooperate, Alterna has you covered. They’ve developed a line of hair styling products formulated to meet the needs of all hair types - from frizzy to flat. These hairstyling products not only enhance the appearance of hair, they condition and protect it from the environment. Could your hair use more body? Alterna Bamboo Volume Plumping Strand Expand is ideal for hair that could use an infusion of volume. It’s formulated with two key ingredients – maca root and bamboo extract – that add volume to hair without weighing it down. Hair feels instantly feels thicker and has more lift. For hair that’s frizzy and needs more shine, Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Polishing Serum smoothes hair cuticles with a light layer of silicone to give it incredible shine and brilliance. Find out what others are saying about this line of hair styling products by visiting the Alterna Hairstyling Reviews page.

Begin your exploration of the hair styling products by reading about the different products and their benefits. Then visit the Alterna Hairstyling Reviews page where other customers share their personal experiences with the products. The Alterna Hairstyling Reviews page is an additional resource you can use to choose the best styling products for your own hair.

Read More About Alterna reviews »
Sort results by:
prev next
Redbynature Northern California
productJunkietop100Contributor Age Group: 55+Gender: FHair Color: redHair Type: chemically treated
Pros: leaves hair soft, only need a little, long-lasting body, little build up Cons: none that i've found
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
best volumizing styling cream -6/27/2011 10:08:33 PM I'm a hair product junkie, having tried many styling products to manage my wavy/slightly frizzy, fine hair. So I wasn't expecting this would be much better or worse than others, but I was almost out of my old product. Wrong! From day one, I've loved this styling cream. I only wash my hair every three-four days, but my hair doesn't go limp after day one as it has done with other volumzing products. Love it!
394ever
Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, daily use, adds body
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Love it! -3/23/2011 12:20:47 PM I finally found a protective styling product that does not weigh my hair down! It actually gives my hair body and bounce! Doesn't build up on my hair either. Every use I get the same amazing results! I use with Alterna volume anti-aging hair shampoo and conditioner. All wonderful products! Love this stuff!
diamonds4me East Coast
brandLoyalisttop25Contributor Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: chemically treated
Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Love this product!! -3/19/2011 10:03:05 AM I was concerned about using this product as I was concerned it would make my hair greasy and flat.This has not happened. My hair looks healthier and has shine. It also has a nice scent. It is replacing my Ojon Shine & Protect product which seemed heavier and had a not so appealing scent! Definitely worth trying!!
alex50 new york, ny
brandLoyalisttop50Contributor Age Group: 45-54Gender: FHair Color: blondeHair Type: damaged
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Neutral -3/5/2011 10:03:25 AM I seemed to get no benefit from this product, I am addicted to ALTERNA Caviar products, but this product did nothing positive or negative, so I gave it to a friend with different hair to try.
Share MA
experimenter Age Group: 55+Gender: FHair Color: greyHair Type: limp/fine/thin
Pros: pleasant fragrance
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
my hair actually looked thicker -2/8/2011 10:42:38 AM I have been trying all kinds of treatments for my thinning hair. I am currently 66 and my hair is white. I tried the Kendi dry oil mist after shampooing without using a conditioner, I must say it was hard to comb out and my hair did looked thicker after drying. I also tried it on my mother who is 90 and I thought her hair looked fuller. Having problems with frizzy hair the next day my hair was still shiny and smooth. I think I will try the shampoo next.
frannyg Indianapolis, IN
brandLoyalist Age Group: 55+Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: damaged
Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, daily use, straightens frizzy hair
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Works Like Advertised! -1/16/2011 6:30:41 AM I have only used this for a week, but I have gotten perfect results every time. It has taken away the frizz, straightened even my stubborn "cowlicks", and I don't have the wild static-electricity hairs standing up in random spots. It has cured all of those each time and has shortened my styling time considerably. I will follow up with results on long-term strengthening results when I see them.
nobska19 Washington, DC
productJunkietop10Contributor Age Group: 25-34Gender: FHair Color: redHair Type: curly
Pros: pleasant fragrance, daily use, anti-frizz, glossing
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
terrific finishing spray -11/14/2010 2:44:58 AM I used to use Frederic Fekkai's glossing mist as my finishing spray after styling my fine, very curly hair to add shine and tame fly-aways. I always hated the scent of that product, though. This spray smells delicious and works even better to tame frizz/fly-aways on dry hair (which is when I use it). I will never go back to Fekkai's product (although I suppose I should finish the bottle that I have of it); this is my new finishing spray for sure. Great gloss without weighing down my hair.
Scullychick
productJunkie Age Group: 45-54Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: curly
Pros: daily use, soft but defined curls
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
It's a Keeper! -10/19/2010 6:08:09 AM I have been using this on my thick, curly, colored/highlighted hair for about 3 years now. It is about the only hair product I continue to buy on a regular basis. It gives me defined curls, not crunchy and seems to condition my hair in the process. Love it!
Mamadoll PA
productJunkie Age Group: 35-44Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: chemically treated
Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, daily use, conditioning
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Really wonderful! -5/7/2010 6:29:54 AM I really am loving this styling tonic. I use it before blow drying and my hair is full, soft and shiney. I have medium length fine and color treated hair and this is my go to product from here on out! For the sale price here you can't beat it, and a little goes a long way so this bottle will last months.
NessInNYC New York, NY
experimentertop250Contributor Age Group: 35-44Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: limp/fine/thin
Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating
Noticeable difference for my hair. -7/28/2009 7:14:38 AM I use a flat iron to shape my unruly, thin hair, and find that this spray really protects my hair when I use it just before applying the iron. I wouldn't use the iron on my hair without this product because without this protection, my hair is too delicate for the heat. My hair looks healthy and has a nice shine every day from using Alterna Caviar Anti Aging Rapid Repair Spray. Plus, it never feels weighted down from the product.
prev next
See Ultimate Solutions for Eyes » See Ultimate Solutions for Eyes »

Additional Alterna Reviews Information

From gels to balms to styling mousses, Alterna has a formulation to enhance the natural beauty of your hair. These products are made to work without weighing hair down or feeling sticky or heavy. For hair that’s damaged and needs extra attention, Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Rapid Repair Spray infuses hair with a feather-light coating of moisture and nutrients to restore hair’s natural health and vibrancy. At the same time, it protects hair against damage from hot appliances and the environment. You can feel good about using Alterna’s line of hairstyling products. They contain natural ingredients that are certified organic, environmentally-friendly and ethically-traded. Unlike many hair care products, they’re free of petroleum products, sulfates, parabens, phthalates and artificial dyes. Even sensitive hair and scalps can benefit from this supremely natural line of products. Find out what others are saying about this line by visiting the Alterna Hair Styling Reviews page. Here, customers share their experiences with the products.

To access reviews on all of the products in the hairstyling line, click on the Alterna Hairstyling Reviews link on the introductory page. You can also access reviews on specific products by clicking on the “reviews” tab adjacent to the product description. Each review includes three product ratings based on ease-of-use, value and an overall product ranking. Each reviewer has included relevant information including their age, hair color and hair type so you can see how the products perform for people with hair similar to your own. For your convenience, you can sort the reviews based on publication date or by highest ranked products. Once you’ve experienced the products for yourself, please come back and leave Alterna Hairstyling Reviews of your own. By doing so, you’ll help others make their own product selections.

FREE The Travel Set ($60 Value). Details »
Sale — While They Last »
Smart Shopping — Beauty Center
Sunflower – Key Ingredient
FREE Dermal Repair Cream ($21 Value. Details »
Skin Care Regimen »
2 steps to a new you — My Beauty Advisor