Save 20% Storewide use code FALL20 » Save 20% Storewide use code FALL20 »

Alterna reviews

Few people are born with hair that has natural volume and shine, but that doesn’t mean you can’t revitalize the hair you were born with. Some hair care products, especially shampoos, contain harsh chemicals that strip hair’s natural oil and make it look dull and lackluster – but not Alterna. This luxury brand formulates its advanced hair treatment products with cutting-edge ingredients like hemp, bamboo, caviar and Kendi oil, a natural oil rich in essential fatty acids and antioxidants. In addition, Alterna uses a special delivery system that speeds absorption of these ingredients into the hair shaft for maximum benefits. Do you color your hair? Alterna offers products that help hair retain color using a unique patented technology. Find out what other customers are saying about this line of hair care products by visiting the Alterna Reviews page.

Choosing hair care products can be challenging. So many hair products claim to be the best. Who should you believe? We created the Alterna Reviews page so you can get the feedback of shoppers who have used the products. On the Alterna Reviews page, shoppers share their experiences by writing reviews and rating the products.

What you DON’T put on your hair is important too. Alterna has formulated their products without unhealthy ingredients like mineral oil, petroleum products, PABA, sulfates, parabens, phthalates and synthetic dyes. In their place they use natural botanicals that enhance hair’s natural beauty. It’s an approach that’s better for hair, for your health and for the environment. Find out what other customers are saying by visiting the Alterna Reviews page.

You’re always a few clicks away from a “second opinion” at the Skin Store. We created the Alterna Reviews page so you can see how other shoppers rate the products and benefit from their reviews and comments. Each review includes three product ratings based on value, ease-of-use and a global product rating based on a five-star system. You’ll also find hints and tips about the products to that’ll help you maximize their benefits.

Read More About Alterna reviews »
Sort results by:
prev next
Friend dallas
brandLoyalist Age Group: 55+Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: dry
Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, daily use, helps dry hair gain elasticity
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Great discovery -10/24/2014 6:06:59 AM I am 65 and hair is thinning and dry. This product helps maintain shine and elasticity.
SisqB Northern California
experimentertop50Contributor Age Group: 55+Gender: FHair Color: redHair Type: chemically treated
Pros: daily use, makes hair silky and smooth Cons: need to use sparingly
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Nice 1-step leave-in product -10/21/2014 9:56:53 AM I have very fine hair that I both color and use keratin treatments to straighten it. I was looking for a product to detangle and protect my hair color from the sun. I'm not sure how well it works as a sunscreen, but I love the way it silkens and conditions my hair without making it greasy or weighing it down. Be sure not to use too much: My hair is just above my shoulders and 2 small pumps is enough to do the job, more will weigh it down. If your hair is longer or thicker, this might not be an issue.
Kaelin6551 Zionsville, IN
productJunkietop250Contributor Age Group: 45-54Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: limp/fine/thin
Pros: pleasant fragrance, daily use, truly adds volume
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Best Volumizer I've Used -9/27/2014 7:21:16 AM I have fine hair. Long and lots of it, but fine. I've tried several other products that promise to add volume, but this is the best one by far. It creates volume if I curl or straighten my hair. Lasts all day, without the need for "re-fluffing" by the end of my work day. Great product! I even introduced it to my hairstylist - she loved the results and plans to use with other clients. I will continue to buy over and over!
CarrieP Indianapolis, IN
productJunkie Age Group: 35-44Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: damaged
Pros: daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Worth every penny! -9/15/2014 4:22:02 PM This shampoo (along with the coordinating conditioner) are worth every penny! I have challenging hair. Thick, super curly and fine. I have dry hair but an oily scalp. I chemically relax my hair and also get keratin treatments. I daily blow dry, flat iron and curl my hair. The end result is dry, breaking, damaged hair. I got a sample of this shampoo and conditioner with a separate order and after using it one time, I was blown away. I had to order, despite the hefty price, immediately. It's worth the cost. My hair feels well cared for and is shiny, bouncy, and super healthy looking. I've gotten so many compliments on my hair since using these products. They smell pleasant and they work! On the plus side, despite easily breaking out with many products, this one didn't bother my skin at all. I'll never be without this product.
CarrieP Indianapolis, IN
productJunkie Age Group: 35-44Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: damaged
Pros: pleasant fragrance, daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Worth every penny! -9/15/2014 4:18:35 PM This conditioner (along with the coordinating shampoo) is worth every penny! I have challenging hair. Thick, super curly and yet fine. I have dry hair but an oily scalp. I chemically relax my hair and also get keratin treatments. I daily blow dry, flat iron and curl my hair. The end result is dry, breaking, damaged hair. I got a sample of this shampoo and conditioner with a separate order and after using it one time, I was blown away. I had to order, despite the hefty price, immediately. It's worth the cost. The conditioner detangles and softens my hair so well. It feels well cared for and is shiny, bouncy, and super healthy looking. I've gotten so many compliments on my hair since using these products. They smell pleasant and they work! On the plus side, despite easily breaking out with many products, this one didn't bother my skin at all despite the heavy duty moisturizing conditioner. I'll never be without this product.
roxane Bozeman, MT
productJunkie Age Group: 25-34Gender: FHair Color: blondeHair Type: damaged
Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Great conditioner! -8/23/2014 9:57:33 PM So I was kinda hesitant about buying this product as I've never tried it and there was no reviews. After I purchased this conditioner, I was very satisfied. It does brighten up my blonde highlighted hair, makes it really soft and healthy looking. Comparing to those purple shampoos that dries out the hair so much, this is really good stuff. The price is not great though but anyways I would recommend it to everybody with light and damaged hair.
Jenjoy Boca Raton, FL
experimentertop250Contributor Age Group: 55+Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: limp/fine/thin
Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Excellent product -7/30/2014 8:26:27 AM I needed a new shampoo & there are dozens to choose from. I already tried Aterna & decided to look at the different shampoos and conditioners and place an order when I saw Alterna TEN Shampoo. Yes, it's expensive; however, I decided to try it. I think it's really a fabulous product. The shampoo and conditioner leaves my hair shiny, silky and manageable. The following day my hair still my hair still feels clean and silky. I really love this product and recommend it.
thoughtful mid CT
experimenter Age Group: 55+Gender: MHair Color: brunetteHair Type: normal
Pros: pleasant fragrance, daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
great product -6/22/2014 5:44:56 PM My hair tends to be completely uncontrollable, short as it is! Conditioner is never enough, but this product eliminated the flyaway frizz instantly. On great part is that it only takes a couple of drops after my morning shower! It did cost a bit, but I expect that bottle to last a very long time.
Yvonne1027 Bloomfield Hills, MI
productJunkie Age Group: 25-34Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: curly
Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
BEST DRY SHAMPOO OUT THERE!!! -5/1/2014 7:58:32 PM I'm a professional hair stylist & I've had long wavy hair my whole life!! Hair that definitely does not need to be washed, but every 2-3 days sometimes 4 depending. Not to mention, I'm a product junkie.. I guess it comes w/the job? Why others are saying this dry shampoo made their hair greasy & flaked is probably because I believe the directions on the can are not clear to the user. You need to keep shaking the can rigorously before each spray!!! NOT JUST shake well in the beginning & that's it. It also states on the can to spray through out your hair. You do NOT need to do that, just the roots is MORE then enough. That is WHY this BRAND originally was supposed to be ONLY sold through professionals stylists & salons. So when purchased you can get the proper instructions on how to use & if so any questions answered. I think a lot of people have the wrong idea or better yet have their OWN idea of what a dry shampoo should do?? A dry shampoo is simply a product to extend the life to your next shampoo. It is do its best at soaking up the oil that we accumulate at the roots of our hair shaft. It isn't suppose to give you a lot of volume, it may just give a little volume because you just removed some oil..?? However, a brush should be able to go through your hair w/any dry shampoo after use. This product like any product IF used incorrectly it can leave really ugly results, & of course vice versa....IF used CORRECTLY it can have beautiful results!!!
CarolinaGirl SC
experimenter Age Group: 55+Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: limp/fine/thin
Pros: pleasant fragrance Cons: weighs hair down, fades hair color, does not add volume, small bottle for the price
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Not a Star -3/23/2014 10:22:23 AM I have thinning and fine hair. I wanted to use a product that would increase the volume and fullness. This product is not fine hair.
prev next
The Fall Forecast is in » The Fall Forecast is in »

Additional Alterna Reviews Information

Alterna Reviews allow customers to see how other SkinStore shoppers rate Alterna products. Many different shoppers with varying needs and concerns have contributed to the collection of Alterna Reviews available on SkinStore.com. All kinds of information can be found that makes it easier for other customers who are trying to decide which products to purchase. For each Alterna Review, you will see an overall rating as well as a rating for price/value and ease of use.

Some Alterna Reviews offer additional information about what a customer liked or didn’t like about a specific product. Some customers elect to offer additional information regarding their age, gender specific hair type and color. All of this information can make it even easier for those browsing products and trying to decide what to purchase.

The list of reviews includes all products by Alterna including shampoos, conditioners, treatment products and styling aids. Since the volume of reviews may be considered high, taking advantage of the sorting options can be helpful. Customers can sort by date and also by ranking. Anyone who is interested in reading reviews for a particular Alterna product should direct his or herself to the product page where there is detailed information only about that specific product. You can read reviews for a particular Alterna Line or Product Type by clicking through to the line or product type you are interested in.

Are you ready to read some reviews and product ratings? If you’re on the introductory page, click on the Alterna Reviews link and start reading. For reviews on a specific product, go to the product description page and click on the “reviews” tab next to the product description. For convenience, you can sort reviews based on the date it was published or by highest ranked products. However you choose to sort them, you’ll find lots of useful information that’ll help you make smarter buying decisions.

SkinStore shoppers can contribute helpful information to fellow customers and participate in the SkinStore community by writing Alterna Reviews. Sharing information is a valuable way to learn and exchange knowledge. We encourage customers to write reviews for products they have used in order to help others make wise purchasing decisions for their specific needs and concerns. To write a review, simply go to the product page for the product you would like to review. Click on the link that says “Write a Review” and follow the instructions from there.

FREE Starter Kit ($50 Value). Details »
Sale — While They Last »
Smart Shopping — Beauty Center
Ribes Nigrum – Key Ingredient
FREE Neroli Rehydrating Cleansing Milk ($10 Value). Details »
Skin Care Regimen »
2 steps to a new you — My Beauty Advisor