Save 20% Storewide use code FALL20 | Details »

Home : Brands : Alterna :

Alterna Reviews

Alterna reviews

The Fall Forecast is in | g2g »

Few people are born with hair that has natural volume and shine, but that doesn’t mean you can’t revitalize the hair you were born with. Some hair care products, especially shampoos, contain harsh chemicals that strip hair’s natural oil and make it look dull and lackluster – but not Alterna. This luxury brand formulates its advanced hair treatment products with cutting-edge ingredients like hemp, bamboo, caviar and Kendi oil, a natural oil rich in essential fatty acids and antioxidants. In addition, Alterna uses a special delivery system that speeds absorption of these ingredients into the hair shaft for maximum benefits. Do you color your hair? Alterna offers products that help hair retain color using a unique patented technology. Find out what other customers are saying about this line of hair care products by visiting the Alterna Reviews page.

Choosing hair care products can be challenging. So many hair products claim to be the best. Who should you believe? We created the Alterna Reviews page so you can get the feedback of shoppers who have used the products. On the Alterna Reviews page, shoppers share their experiences by writing reviews and rating the products.

What you DON’T put on your hair is important too. Alterna has formulated their products without unhealthy ingredients like mineral oil, petroleum products, PABA, sulfates, parabens, phthalates and synthetic dyes. In their place they use natural botanicals that enhance hair’s natural beauty. It’s an approach that’s better for hair, for your health and for the environment. Find out what other customers are saying by visiting the Alterna Reviews page.

You’re always a few clicks away from a “second opinion” at the Skin Store. We created the Alterna Reviews page so you can see how other shoppers rate the products and benefit from their reviews and comments. Each review includes three product ratings based on value, ease-of-use and a global product rating based on a five-star system. You’ll also find hints and tips about the products to that’ll help you maximize their benefits.

  
Read More About Alterna Reviews »

« prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |
Sort results by:

thoo Pros: daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
brandLoyalist
Age Group: 45-54Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: chemically treated
LOVE LOVE - 10/22/2012 7:07:38 AM I have used this product for a few years now. I wont use anything else. I blowdry and flat iron everyday and this prduct keeps my hair healthy and strong and never weighs it down
Lex24 Plano, Tx Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, daily use, no friz
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use

Age Group: Under 25Gender: FHair Type: curly
The BEST!!! - 10/19/2012 8:15:18 PM It is awesome for natural curly hair. Keeps it looking healthy, shiny and is light weight.
UpNorth8 Minnesota Pros: pleasant fragrance
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
minimalist
Age Group: 45-54Gender: FHair Color: blondeHair Type: limp/fine/thin
Causes major static - 10/16/2012 2:57:11 PM My hair is blond, long and fine and falls past my shoulders. I've always been interested in products that are supposed to amp up the volume. My hair is in very good condition as I don't use heat styling or brushes and rarely blow dry, so I was surprised this product caused major static and fly away. I tried it several ways, I sprayed it on damp, combed hair and then let it dry naturally. I repeated the next day and used it exactly as directed and blow dried it, I also tried it on dry hair, and each time it was a no-good. I have to return this considering how pricey it is.
ResearchGirl San Francisco, CA Pros: pleasant fragrance Cons: a bit drying
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
experimenter
Age Group: 35-44Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: chemically treated
Great for Normal/Oily Hair! - 10/10/2012 11:45:01 AM I love Alterna's Bamboo line. First, I love the smell of this line; green and floral, yet light. I have normal to dry hair and after using almost half the bottle of this shampoo, I can say it's probably best for normal/oily hair, as my hair is left a bit dry after rinsing. My hair is shinier, the shampoo rinses out well, and I love the fact that there are no sulphates or sodium - killers of color and straightening processes. I would recommend this to my friends who have normal to oily hair and not dry hair.
nurse Minnesota Pros: pleasant fragrance, daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
experimentertop250Contributor
Age Group: 45-54Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: normal
Nice hold - 9/14/2012 8:01:20 PM I was looking for a hair spray that would give my thick hair more hold and this fits the task.
luvskin nyc
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
experimentertop10Contributor
Age Group: 25-34Gender: FHair Color: blackHair Type: limp/fine/thin
Adds a little bit of shine and moisture - 9/1/2012 10:03:07 AM As my hair has been growing longer, the ends were looking dry so I've been looking for a spray to add some moisture and shine and it does do that without weighing it down too much although it does flatten out a little. I have fine limp dry hair and I think that's unavoidable. It's better at keeping reasonable amount of volume compared to argan oil based products. I'm kinda on the fence because I feel oily although it doesn't look oily. I don't feel refreshed after spraying and the cloying sweet smell is so strong that I feel nauseated. The product works but I wouldn't recommend it because of scent and oily sensation.
BUSMAN THRE VILLAGES,FL. Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
brandLoyalist
Age Group: 55+Gender: MHair Color: brunetteHair Type: limp/fine/thin
- 8/18/2012 2:48:53 PM THIS IS A EXCELLENT PRODUCT TO HELP STYLE YOUR HAIR,HELPS MAKE YOUR HAIR LOOK FULLER,WILL BE BUYING MORE,JUST PLACED A NEW ORDER.
HARDTOIMPRESS sac, ca Pros: pleasant fragrance, daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
experimenter
Age Group: 35-44Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: normal
a must have - 6/7/2012 12:54:03 AM wonderful product. leaves hair super smooth and so soft!
natsun Toronto, ON Pros: pleasant fragrance, daily use, very light! Cons: runs out quick
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
experimenter
Age Group: Under 25Gender: FHair Color: blackHair Type: damaged
J'ADORE! - 5/21/2012 4:20:47 AM i found this bamboo dry oil mist to be AWESOME!! it's smells absolutely fantastic and it doesn't weigh my hair down. My hair gets out of control if i don't tame it after i shower but with this oil mist, it really helps tame and defrizz it. It also takes away the hardness to my hair so essentially, it softens my hair. I love it! the only dissatisfaction is that it is probably meant for really thin hair but because my hair is regular (it's not exactly thick but it's definitely not thin) I can go through this product very quickly. But the price is quite reasonable (although size of bottle may be on the small side) so I don't mind buying more.
jkat7 Chicago, IL
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
productJunkie
Age Group: 25-34Gender: FHair Color: blondeHair Type: limp/fine/thin
Meh. - 5/10/2012 10:21:09 AM I have been using this several times a week for a couple of months. I have long, somewhat fine, straight highlighted blonde hair. My ultimate hope was that this product would help to minimize breakage along my hairline from putting my hair up while I work out, and to minimize/repair split ends. I am almost done with the bottle and haven't seen any change. I also have to use a lot more than the suggested amount because of the length of my hair. Finally, I have been breaking out since I started using it. I am disappointed with this product and won't purchase it again.
« prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |

Additional Alterna Reviews Information

Alterna Reviews allow customers to see how other SkinStore shoppers rate Alterna products. Many different shoppers with varying needs and concerns have contributed to the collection of Alterna Reviews available on SkinStore.com. All kinds of information can be found that makes it easier for other customers who are trying to decide which products to purchase. For each Alterna Review, you will see an overall rating as well as a rating for price/value and ease of use.

Some Alterna Reviews offer additional information about what a customer liked or didn’t like about a specific product. Some customers elect to offer additional information regarding their age, gender specific hair type and color. All of this information can make it even easier for those browsing products and trying to decide what to purchase.

The list of reviews includes all products by Alterna including shampoos, conditioners, treatment products and styling aids. Since the volume of reviews may be considered high, taking advantage of the sorting options can be helpful. Customers can sort by date and also by ranking. Anyone who is interested in reading reviews for a particular Alterna product should direct his or herself to the product page where there is detailed information only about that specific product. You can read reviews for a particular Alterna Line or Product Type by clicking through to the line or product type you are interested in.

Are you ready to read some reviews and product ratings? If you’re on the introductory page, click on the Alterna Reviews link and start reading. For reviews on a specific product, go to the product description page and click on the “reviews” tab next to the product description. For convenience, you can sort reviews based on the date it was published or by highest ranked products. However you choose to sort them, you’ll find lots of useful information that’ll help you make smarter buying decisions.

SkinStore shoppers can contribute helpful information to fellow customers and participate in the SkinStore community by writing Alterna Reviews. Sharing information is a valuable way to learn and exchange knowledge. We encourage customers to write reviews for products they have used in order to help others make wise purchasing decisions for their specific needs and concerns. To write a review, simply go to the product page for the product you would like to review. Click on the link that says “Write a Review” and follow the instructions from there.

Sale — While They Last »
Smart Shopping — Beauty Center
Cucumber – Key Ingredient
FREE Ceramide Set ($79 Value). Details »
FREE Pro–Collagen Marine Cream ($30 Value). Details »
Skin Care Regimen »
My Payment Methods — Easily Pay on the Go »

help

about

share

HACKER SAFE certified sites prevent over 99.9% of hacker crime.
BBBOnLine Reliability Seal
TRUSTe online privacy certification
Stella Service
SEE ALL    
SEE ALL