Gifts for Everyone! See our Holiday Gift Guide » Gifts for Everyone! See our Holiday Gift Guide »

Alterna Shampoos reviews

Hair is like a sponge, soaking up debris and pollutants from the environment. Plus, sebaceous glands on the scalp produce sebum, an oily substance that lubricates and protects hair. Unfortunately, sebum builds up, weighing hair down and causing it to look greasy unless you shampoo regularly. Some people produce more sebum than others. That’s why there are different shampoos to meet the needs of different hair types – from oily to dry. Alterna has developed a line of shampoos that does what a shampoo should do - remove sebum and dirt - without damaging or stripping hair of its essential moisture. No matter what your hair type, there’s an Alterna shampoo to enhance the natural beauty of your hair. What could be more frustrating than a head of frizzy, hard-to-manage hair? Frizz is no match for Alterna Bamboo Smooth Anti-Frizz Shampoo. This shampoo gently cleanses while hydrating and strengthening hair using a combination of organic bamboo extract and organic kendi oil. The result is hair that’s stronger, smoother and frizz-free. Find out what others are saying about this line of advanced shampoo by visiting the Alterna Shampoos Reviews page.

Being your exploration of the shampoos by reading about the different types and the benefits they offer. There are shampoos formulated to treat a variety of hair types and hair concerns. Then visit the Alterna Shampoos Reviews page where customers who have used these products share their experiences. The Alterna Shampoos Reviews page is an additional resource you can use to learn more about the products.

Read More About Alterna reviews »
Sort results by:
Overall Rating Overall Rating
Works for me! -12/18/2008 4:32:55 AM I'm almost 50 (yikes). I've always highlighted my hair and it was getting thin and very dry. This shampoo and matching conditioner totally transformed my hair. It now looks so healthy and beautiful. If it's too pricey for you, try it during a promotion. That's what I did and it's worth it!!
LLphi1 Phila, PA
brandLoyalisttop100Contributor Age Group: 45-54Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: damaged
Pros: maintains hair color, daily use, incredible shine, healthy manageable hair, less frizz
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Saved the day! -10/3/2013 12:43:07 PM I love the Alterna Caviar moisture shampoo. Recent chemo treatments and surgery have turned my hair into dried out straw! Nothing has worked until this shampoo and conditioner. My hair is silky and shiny, more manageable, frizz is controlled and my hair actually looks healthy - something I never thought I would ever be able to say again. Even my hairdresser noticed the difference. I also stopped losing hair and my color lasts longer. I will definitely continue purchasing this and more Alterna products.
nynygal nyc
Age Group: 45-54Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: chemically treated
Pros: pleasant fragrance, leaves hair shiny, moisturising Cons: price
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
love this shampoo! -5/4/2013 5:33:10 AM have ben using alterna's bamboo line for the past year but wanted to try this since i've found bamboo a bit drying. love this shampoo/conditioner! it is very moisturizing, leaves my hair shiny & soft with lots of body. it's very pricy so i'm glad i don't wash my hair every day but very happy with it so far.
EmGo Westminster, CO
experimenter Age Group: 25-34Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: dry
Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, adds shine, rebuilds damaged hair
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Even my husband commented on the difference! -2/11/2011 9:53:59 PM I have long, very thick, very wavy hair which I color brown and straighten. I have been addicted to Kerestase for years. But over the past 6 months, my hair started to tangle more and became dull. So I purchased this Shampoo and complimenting conditioner as a last resort. Now, I am addicted to touching my hair. People stop me on the street to ask me what my secret is. My hair is beautiful to manage. I can't write enough about this line of hair care. My hair is manageable AND fabulous looking! Buy this product; get miraculous hair. That simple.
wylie1204 Seattle
productJunkietop100Contributor Age Group: 25-34Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: chemically treated
Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, luxurious Cons: pricey
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Pure Indulgence -12/12/2010 11:31:49 AM This is the most luxurious shampoo ever! It comes out of the bottle on the thicker side and it contains caviar and other incredible ingredients to pamper and nourish dry hair. I feel like I am giving my hair a treat when I use this. It's just wonderful, a must try!
Overall Rating Overall Rating
love it! -7/30/2007 2:52:57 PM My hair is fine, dry, and colored. It is difficult to find a shampoo that moisturizes without making my hair flat. I received this shampoo as a sample with purchase and absolutely love it. I was a Bumble and Bumble junkie before and the difference is amazing. My hair is so silky and shiny. Buy the conditioner too- they're both well worth the price!
Overall Rating Overall Rating
No Alternate for Alterna -8/9/2007 12:48:05 PM For some reason, I was 'blessed' to have natural curly hair. Prior to finding Alterna products, my hair was a frizzy afro-ball. I would personally recommend the Caviar Moisture Shampoo and Conditioner, Hemp Straightening Balm, Hemp Styling Mud, and the Hemp Sheer Pomade. All of the Alterna products lock in moisture, control frizz/humidity, and make my hair more manageable. In addition, I am grateful that the products repair my hair and lock in color. An added bonus is that I receive a million compliments a day. I am quite pleased to see that the Alterna products are drastically lower than the salon pricesthis exact same bottle of Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Shampoo would sell for $49.00 at a salon. ("Shhh, I hope that will just be our little secret").
Overall Rating Overall Rating
fabulous -8/31/2007 2:52:59 PM My hair is very thick and was coarse in texture. I tried the alterna shampoo first and loved it so much I bought the conditioner also. My hair is now really shiny and has lots of body -and I am over 50!!! Love, love, love it!
Jewels Murray, Utah
experimenter Age Group: 55+Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: limp/fine/thin
Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating
Best ever combo -3/26/2009 10:15:03 AM I love these products. They feel clean on my hair yet they do their job. Most volumizing products make my hair feel dirty and heavy. These are so clean and make my hair so easy to style. They even hold the style!
Overall Rating Overall Rating
GREAT!! -2/21/2008 7:09:58 AM I was soooo skeptical on this stuff. First, it's very expensive and I've tried everything, so how could this be that much better??!! But, took the chance since I'm 41 and have thinning hair. WOW! it's great!! I love it and will forever buy it!
Black Friday Specials | Save up 25% use code SPECIAL » Black Friday Specials | Save up 25% use code SPECIAL »

Additional Alterna Reviews Information

Color-treated hair has special needs. Sulfates in many shampoo products can cause even the most professionally-applied hair color to fade or change colors. Sulfate-free Alterna Bamboo UV Color Protection Vibrant Color Shampoo uses advanced Color Hold technology to protect color-treated hair and shield it against the sun. For hair that’s flat and lifeless, Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Body-Building Volume Shampoo gives hair a volume-lift that’s light-weight and movable, never stiff or sticky. When you’re in a hurry and don’t have time to shampoo, Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Dry Shampoo will reinvigorate and refresh your hair, giving it a fresh scent when you don’t have time to shampoo. It’s perfect for those days when you’re too busy to shampoo and blow dry. Find out what others are saying about this line of shampoos by visiting the Alterna Shampoos Reviews page. Here, customers share their personal experiences with the products.

To access reviews on all of the shampoos in the line, click on the Alterna Shampoos Reviews link on the introductory page. From here you’ll be taken to a growing list of reviews on the products. You can access reviews on a specific product directly from the product description page. Simply click on the “reviews” tab adjacent to the product description. Each reviewer has included information about their hair type, hair color and age so you can see how the products perform for people with hair similar to your own. For your convenience, you can sort reviews based on publication date or by highest ranked products. Once you’ve experienced the products for yourself, please return and leave Alterna Shampoos Reviews of your own. As always, we appreciate your feedback and reviews.

FREE Prevage & Elizabeth Arden Gift Set ($95 Value). Details »
Sale — While They Last »
Smart Shopping — Beauty Center
Cranberry – Key Ingredient
FREE Resveratrol [Lift] Firming Serum ($27 Value). Details »
Skin Care Regimen »
2 steps to a new you — My Beauty Advisor