PRETTY PARTY PICKS | Find Yours »

Home : Brands : Alterna : Alterna Shampoos :

Alterna Shampoos Reviews

Alterna Shampoos reviews

Save up to $50 | Use code SAVE »

Hair is like a sponge, soaking up debris and pollutants from the environment. Plus, sebaceous glands on the scalp produce sebum, an oily substance that lubricates and protects hair. Unfortunately, sebum builds up, weighing hair down and causing it to look greasy unless you shampoo regularly. Some people produce more sebum than others. That’s why there are different shampoos to meet the needs of different hair types – from oily to dry. Alterna has developed a line of shampoos that does what a shampoo should do - remove sebum and dirt - without damaging or stripping hair of its essential moisture. No matter what your hair type, there’s an Alterna shampoo to enhance the natural beauty of your hair. What could be more frustrating than a head of frizzy, hard-to-manage hair? Frizz is no match for Alterna Bamboo Smooth Anti-Frizz Shampoo. This shampoo gently cleanses while hydrating and strengthening hair using a combination of organic bamboo extract and organic kendi oil. The result is hair that’s stronger, smoother and frizz-free. Find out what others are saying about this line of advanced shampoo by visiting the Alterna Shampoos Reviews page.

Being your exploration of the shampoos by reading about the different types and the benefits they offer. There are shampoos formulated to treat a variety of hair types and hair concerns. Then visit the Alterna Shampoos Reviews page where customers who have used these products share their experiences. The Alterna Shampoos Reviews page is an additional resource you can use to learn more about the products.

  
Read More About Alterna Reviews »

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | next »
Sort results by:

laurenc Los Angeles Pros: pleasant fragrance, daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
experimenter
Age Group: 25-34Gender: FHair Color: blondeHair Type: normal
much better than a spray - 11/20/2014 2:26:29 PM This is a powder that you dust into your hair, which I didn't realize when I purchased it. It works so much better than any spray I've used, and the product lasts considerably longer as well, both in terms of how often I have to re-purchase, and how long I can go in between hair washing. For me, it absorbs oil better than any other "dry shampoo" product I've tried. A little trickier to use, maybe, but worth the minimal extra effort. Smells pretty nice. I should add that this is a white powder, and since I am blonde, it may be easier for me to blend in. Not sure if it would be a problem for the dark-haired.
Scarlett Richmond Pros: maintains hair color, once a week, great cleansing
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
productJunkie
Age Group: 55+Gender: FHair Color: blondeHair Type: normal
Excellent - 10/30/2014 2:00:11 AM Great for once a week cleansing or when you have gone too long between shampoos. I only wash my hair every 4 days so when I go longer than that this is a great shampoo for a deep clean. I use all of the Alterna products and this is a great addition to my regular regime.
CarrieP Indianapolis, IN Pros: daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
productJunkie
Age Group: 35-44Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: damaged
Worth every penny! - 9/15/2014 4:22:02 PM This shampoo (along with the coordinating conditioner) are worth every penny! I have challenging hair. Thick, super curly and fine. I have dry hair but an oily scalp. I chemically relax my hair and also get keratin treatments. I daily blow dry, flat iron and curl my hair. The end result is dry, breaking, damaged hair. I got a sample of this shampoo and conditioner with a separate order and after using it one time, I was blown away. I had to order, despite the hefty price, immediately. It's worth the cost. My hair feels well cared for and is shiny, bouncy, and super healthy looking. I've gotten so many compliments on my hair since using these products. They smell pleasant and they work! On the plus side, despite easily breaking out with many products, this one didn't bother my skin at all. I'll never be without this product.
Jenjoy Boca Raton, FL Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
experimentertop250Contributor
Age Group: 55+Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: limp/fine/thin
Excellent product - 7/30/2014 8:26:27 AM I needed a new shampoo & there are dozens to choose from. I already tried Aterna & decided to look at the different shampoos and conditioners and place an order when I saw Alterna TEN Shampoo. Yes, it's expensive; however, I decided to try it. I think it's really a fabulous product. The shampoo and conditioner leaves my hair shiny, silky and manageable. The following day my hair still my hair still feels clean and silky. I really love this product and recommend it.
Yvonne1027 Bloomfield Hills, MI Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
productJunkie
Age Group: 25-34Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: curly
BEST DRY SHAMPOO OUT THERE!!! - 5/1/2014 7:58:32 PM I'm a professional hair stylist & I've had long wavy hair my whole life!! Hair that definitely does not need to be washed, but every 2-3 days sometimes 4 depending. Not to mention, I'm a product junkie.. I guess it comes w/the job? Why others are saying this dry shampoo made their hair greasy & flaked is probably because I believe the directions on the can are not clear to the user. You need to keep shaking the can rigorously before each spray!!! NOT JUST shake well in the beginning & that's it. It also states on the can to spray through out your hair. You do NOT need to do that, just the roots is MORE then enough. That is WHY this BRAND originally was supposed to be ONLY sold through professionals stylists & salons. So when purchased you can get the proper instructions on how to use & if so any questions answered. I think a lot of people have the wrong idea or better yet have their OWN idea of what a dry shampoo should do?? A dry shampoo is simply a product to extend the life to your next shampoo. It is do its best at soaking up the oil that we accumulate at the roots of our hair shaft. It isn't suppose to give you a lot of volume, it may just give a little volume because you just removed some oil..?? However, a brush should be able to go through your hair w/any dry shampoo after use. This product like any product IF used incorrectly it can leave really ugly results, & of course vice versa....IF used CORRECTLY it can have beautiful results!!!
CarolinaGirl SC Pros: pleasant fragrance Cons: weighs hair down, fades hair color, does not add volume, small bottle for the price
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
experimenter
Age Group: 55+Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: limp/fine/thin
Not a Star - 3/23/2014 10:22:23 AM I have thinning and fine hair. I wanted to use a product that would increase the volume and fullness. This product is not fine hair.
LabRatMom Italy Pros: daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
productJunkie
Age Group: 25-34Gender: FHair Color: brunette
Best ever - 12/4/2013 10:43:18 PM I have long hair, of mixed textures naturally- blonde & fine toward the face, dark & thick & wavy in the back. I love it, & it's always been a challenge to find the right shampoo/conditioner combo. With anything else other than a vo5 treatment, I've been stuck with either dreadlocks that feel like straw or a heavy mop that looks greasy in an hour, since what works for the blonde stuff doesn't work for the dark stuff, & likewise. I was going to chop 6 inches that I felt were too dry & likely making my hair tangle & break easier, but I bought the mini caviar bottles to attempt salvaging it. It really is the ideal formula- my hair is shiny, soft, easy to brush, & isn't weighed down at the scalp. I feel like with this, I can have the hair I've been wanting my hair to behave like for years. I'm not a huge fan of the smell, kinda lemony, but that's my biggest grievance. So if you're skeptical, pick up the 40ml mini bottles to try it out. I bought the 40ml first to try out on vacation, then ended up ditching my regular shampoo when I got home & dropped the 64 bucks for the duo. It's worth it, & if you're colouring your hair then it's probably a drop in the bucket & if not, it's a worthy indulgence.
KikiTX
Overall Rating Overall Rating

Age Group: 55+Gender: FHair Color: blondeHair Type: limp/fine/thin
Renews and revitalizes - 10/9/2013 6:10:22 AM Excellent product for strengthening and revitalizing your hair, especially over-processed hair from coloring and hot irons. Highly recommend. It really only takes a little so it does go a long way.
LLphi1 Phila, PA Pros: maintains hair color, daily use, incredible shine, healthy manageable hair, less frizz
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
brandLoyalisttop250Contributor
Age Group: 45-54Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: damaged
Saved the day! - 10/3/2013 12:43:07 PM I love the Alterna Caviar moisture shampoo. Recent chemo treatments and surgery have turned my hair into dried out straw! Nothing has worked until this shampoo and conditioner. My hair is silky and shiny, more manageable, frizz is controlled and my hair actually looks healthy - something I never thought I would ever be able to say again. Even my hairdresser noticed the difference. I also stopped losing hair and my color lasts longer. I will definitely continue purchasing this and more Alterna products.
vlss Pros: all in one Cons: smell
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
experimenter
Age Group: 35-44Gender: M
it's ok but the smell - 8/27/2013 9:32:58 AM it's a pretty good shampoo/body wash however the smell is what did it in for me. it's got a medicinal smell to it and it almost smells like a certain dandruff shampoo.
1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | next »

Additional Alterna Reviews Information

Color-treated hair has special needs. Sulfates in many shampoo products can cause even the most professionally-applied hair color to fade or change colors. Sulfate-free Alterna Bamboo UV Color Protection Vibrant Color Shampoo uses advanced Color Hold technology to protect color-treated hair and shield it against the sun. For hair that’s flat and lifeless, Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Body-Building Volume Shampoo gives hair a volume-lift that’s light-weight and movable, never stiff or sticky. When you’re in a hurry and don’t have time to shampoo, Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Dry Shampoo will reinvigorate and refresh your hair, giving it a fresh scent when you don’t have time to shampoo. It’s perfect for those days when you’re too busy to shampoo and blow dry. Find out what others are saying about this line of shampoos by visiting the Alterna Shampoos Reviews page. Here, customers share their personal experiences with the products.

To access reviews on all of the shampoos in the line, click on the Alterna Shampoos Reviews link on the introductory page. From here you’ll be taken to a growing list of reviews on the products. You can access reviews on a specific product directly from the product description page. Simply click on the “reviews” tab adjacent to the product description. Each reviewer has included information about their hair type, hair color and age so you can see how the products perform for people with hair similar to your own. For your convenience, you can sort reviews based on publication date or by highest ranked products. Once you’ve experienced the products for yourself, please return and leave Alterna Shampoos Reviews of your own. As always, we appreciate your feedback and reviews.

Holiday Clearance | Save on overstock, seasonal and discontinued items — See Details »
FREE full size Nutrient Toner ($34 Value). Details »
FREE Loose Setting Powder and Cosmetic Bag ($27 Value). Details »
Skin Care Regimen »
2 steps to a new you — My Beauty Advisor

help

about

share

HACKER SAFE certified sites prevent over 99.9% of hacker crime.
BBBOnLine Reliability Seal
TRUSTe online privacy certification
Stella Service
SEE ALL    
SEE ALL