Save $50 Storewide use code SAVE » Save $50 Storewide use code SAVE »

Alterna Shampoos reviews

Hair is like a sponge, soaking up debris and pollutants from the environment. Plus, sebaceous glands on the scalp produce sebum, an oily substance that lubricates and protects hair. Unfortunately, sebum builds up, weighing hair down and causing it to look greasy unless you shampoo regularly. Some people produce more sebum than others. That’s why there are different shampoos to meet the needs of different hair types – from oily to dry. Alterna has developed a line of shampoos that does what a shampoo should do - remove sebum and dirt - without damaging or stripping hair of its essential moisture. No matter what your hair type, there’s an Alterna shampoo to enhance the natural beauty of your hair. What could be more frustrating than a head of frizzy, hard-to-manage hair? Frizz is no match for Alterna Bamboo Smooth Anti-Frizz Shampoo. This shampoo gently cleanses while hydrating and strengthening hair using a combination of organic bamboo extract and organic kendi oil. The result is hair that’s stronger, smoother and frizz-free. Find out what others are saying about this line of advanced shampoo by visiting the Alterna Shampoos Reviews page.

Being your exploration of the shampoos by reading about the different types and the benefits they offer. There are shampoos formulated to treat a variety of hair types and hair concerns. Then visit the Alterna Shampoos Reviews page where customers who have used these products share their experiences. The Alterna Shampoos Reviews page is an additional resource you can use to learn more about the products.

Read More About Alterna reviews »
Sort results by:
prev next
vlss
experimenter Age Group: 35-44Gender: M
Pros: all in one Cons: smell
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
it's ok but the smell -8/27/2013 9:32:58 AM it's a pretty good shampoo/body wash however the smell is what did it in for me. it's got a medicinal smell to it and it almost smells like a certain dandruff shampoo.
Redbynature Northern California
productJunkietop100Contributor Age Group: 55+Gender: FHair Color: redHair Type: chemically treated
Pros: does restore body to limp hair Cons: expensive, powder doesn't come out consistently, white powder colors hair, rather messy
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Disappointing -7/6/2013 7:15:49 AM I've used several Alterna products over the past few years and really liked all of them, so was expecting this would be the same. Unfortunately that wasn't the case. Trying to get the powder squeezed out into the hair consistently was a challenge, and then the white color lightened my hair, even when brushed through. It did lift my limp hair, but so do other dry shampoos I've tried. Not worth the price.
Dragon333
Pros: pleasant fragrance, daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Best Dry Shampoo -6/14/2013 10:46:56 AM I really like this dry shampoo. I have fine hair and this products adds volume and does not weigh my hair down. I have light brown hair and there is no evidence of any white powder like some other products I've tried. I find the smell to be pleasant. Overall I think it works well at absorbing oil.
nynygal nyc
Age Group: 45-54Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: chemically treated
Pros: pleasant fragrance, leaves hair shiny, moisturising Cons: price
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
love this shampoo! -5/4/2013 5:33:10 AM have ben using alterna's bamboo line for the past year but wanted to try this since i've found bamboo a bit drying. love this shampoo/conditioner! it is very moisturizing, leaves my hair shiny & soft with lots of body. it's very pricy so i'm glad i don't wash my hair every day but very happy with it so far.
sched4u Wisconsin
brandLoyalisttop250Contributor Age Group: 35-44Gender: FHair Color: blondeHair Type: chemically treated
Pros: builds volume Cons: must ensure all the product is massaged into scalp
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
-4/14/2013 6:12:27 PM Love that Alterna products are natural. This is a winner. I have highlighted blonde hair that needs to be washed daily or the roots get too dark and my hair gets to limp at the crown. This dry shampoo not only takes care of the oils, it adds great volume. As a bonus, because this powder is white, it lightens the non-highlighted outgrowth. Caution: If this lightens unwanted dark roots, it may lighten "wanted" dark roots. Also, I must take care to massage all the product into my scalp. IF youare a brunette with no volume concerns, Klorane is easier to work with but does not add volume or lighten dark roots. I've tried several other dry shampoos but always return to Alterna.
KarenK99 NYC
Age Group: 25-34Hair Type: normal
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Doesn't work -4/4/2013 12:06:29 PM It flakes after a couple of hours and leaves the hair sticky. The only thing good about this product is the smell.
juliaboo illinois
experimenter Age Group: Under 25Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: limp/fine/thin
Cons: weighs hair down, white, does not effectively remove oil, does not remove sweat
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
limp/expensive/and useless -3/13/2013 1:28:12 PM did not like it. left white residue and just was bad. made my hair limp and left it greasy. no good
Edward
minimalist Age Group: 25-34Gender: MHair Color: blondeHair Type: normal
Pros: daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Solid choice in a world of chemical products. -1/14/2013 10:38:55 AM I'm a guy with longer hair and wanted a shampoo without a slew of weird chemicals that disrupt my nervous system. There are ingredients in here that I haven't researched but all the red flag ingredients are absent. This shampoo gives a good wash and when my hair dries it has a good enough weight and nice amount of body, so I don't need to put any product in it.
Maluhia Hawaii
brandLoyalisttop250Contributor Age Group: 55+Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: normal
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Nice shine on natural hair -12/11/2012 3:46:10 PM This shampoo plus the conditioner and shine cream gives a wonderful shine and bounce to natural salt & pepper hair which has a tendency to be dull. Young women, half my age have asked me what I use. The shampoo is very thick so just a little is needed, and I love that it is a natural product.
StillFabulous Henderson, NV
brandLoyalist Age Group: 55+Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: limp/fine/thin
Pros: maintains hair color, daily use, adds incredible volume, perfect product for "growing out"
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
WONDERFUL PRODUCT! -10/30/2012 6:24:11 PM Even though this product is formulated and intended for damaged hair, I would suggest that it is the perfect shampoo for anyone who is going through the rigors of growing their hair out. I'm always on the "hunt" for the perfect shampoo. I've tried every premier brand to those that are available at your local Target. NOTHING compares to Repair RX! This shampoo cleanses thoroughly without any residual heaviness. It imparts incredible volume and shine and your "fly-aways" will be a thing of the past. Regardless of your hair's condition, give Repair RX a try. I'm sure you'll discover, as I did, it's your new and favorite everyday shampoo.
prev next
Shop Top–Rated Customer Picks » Shop Top–Rated Customer Picks »

Additional Alterna Reviews Information

Color-treated hair has special needs. Sulfates in many shampoo products can cause even the most professionally-applied hair color to fade or change colors. Sulfate-free Alterna Bamboo UV Color Protection Vibrant Color Shampoo uses advanced Color Hold technology to protect color-treated hair and shield it against the sun. For hair that’s flat and lifeless, Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Body-Building Volume Shampoo gives hair a volume-lift that’s light-weight and movable, never stiff or sticky. When you’re in a hurry and don’t have time to shampoo, Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Dry Shampoo will reinvigorate and refresh your hair, giving it a fresh scent when you don’t have time to shampoo. It’s perfect for those days when you’re too busy to shampoo and blow dry. Find out what others are saying about this line of shampoos by visiting the Alterna Shampoos Reviews page. Here, customers share their personal experiences with the products.

To access reviews on all of the shampoos in the line, click on the Alterna Shampoos Reviews link on the introductory page. From here you’ll be taken to a growing list of reviews on the products. You can access reviews on a specific product directly from the product description page. Simply click on the “reviews” tab adjacent to the product description. Each reviewer has included information about their hair type, hair color and age so you can see how the products perform for people with hair similar to your own. For your convenience, you can sort reviews based on publication date or by highest ranked products. Once you’ve experienced the products for yourself, please return and leave Alterna Shampoos Reviews of your own. As always, we appreciate your feedback and reviews.

FREE Favorites Duo ($24 Value). Details »
Sale — While They Last »
Smart Shopping — Beauty Center
Zinc Oxide – Key Ingredient
FREE Glycol Lactic Radiance Renewal Mask ($17 Value). Details »
Skin Care Regimen »
2 steps to a new you — My Beauty Advisor