Gifts for Everyone! See our Holiday Gift Guide » Gifts for Everyone! See our Holiday Gift Guide »

Alterna Shampoos reviews

Hair is like a sponge, soaking up debris and pollutants from the environment. Plus, sebaceous glands on the scalp produce sebum, an oily substance that lubricates and protects hair. Unfortunately, sebum builds up, weighing hair down and causing it to look greasy unless you shampoo regularly. Some people produce more sebum than others. That’s why there are different shampoos to meet the needs of different hair types – from oily to dry. Alterna has developed a line of shampoos that does what a shampoo should do - remove sebum and dirt - without damaging or stripping hair of its essential moisture. No matter what your hair type, there’s an Alterna shampoo to enhance the natural beauty of your hair. What could be more frustrating than a head of frizzy, hard-to-manage hair? Frizz is no match for Alterna Bamboo Smooth Anti-Frizz Shampoo. This shampoo gently cleanses while hydrating and strengthening hair using a combination of organic bamboo extract and organic kendi oil. The result is hair that’s stronger, smoother and frizz-free. Find out what others are saying about this line of advanced shampoo by visiting the Alterna Shampoos Reviews page.

Being your exploration of the shampoos by reading about the different types and the benefits they offer. There are shampoos formulated to treat a variety of hair types and hair concerns. Then visit the Alterna Shampoos Reviews page where customers who have used these products share their experiences. The Alterna Shampoos Reviews page is an additional resource you can use to learn more about the products.

Read More About Alterna reviews »
Sort results by:
prev next
anjie Long Island, NY
experimenter Age Group: Under 25Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: normal
Pros: pleasant fragrance, daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Best shampoo!! -5/5/2010 6:51:38 AM Hands down, this is the best shampoo I've ever used. My hair feels thicker and stronger if that's possible. I also like that it is sulfate-free and it is definitely worth the price for the size of it you're getting.
Agent67 Terre Haute, Indiana
productJunkietop100Contributor Age Group: 35-44Gender: FHair Color: blondeHair Type: curly
Pros: daily use Cons: no good without conditioner
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Great Results -4/4/2010 4:57:54 AM This product was not effective alone. I had to use it with the Volume conditioner because it left my hair with a "rough" and damaged feel when used alone.
luvskin nyc
experimentertop10Contributor Age Group: 25-34Gender: FHair Color: blackHair Type: limp/fine/thin
Pros: pleasant fragrance, daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
It gives volume and waves. -2/14/2010 1:09:17 AM I have fine, limp, and long straight hair. When it's cut short, it's slightly wavy. This shampoo gives my hair volume and more waves. It's on my top 3 list along with DS lab and Phyto. Highly recommended.
MoRo1 Nevada
productJunkietop25Contributor Age Group: 45-54Gender: FHair Color: redHair Type: limp/fine/thin
Pros: pleasant fragrance Cons: too pricey
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
I'm not impressed -8/6/2009 10:09:28 AM Oh how I wanted to love this shampoo. I wanted to justify the cost, but I can't. It is not bad, it just is not great. It smells wonderful. I can get shampoos as good or better for much less!!!
Jewels Murray, Utah
experimenter Age Group: 55+Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: limp/fine/thin
Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating
Best ever combo -3/26/2009 10:15:03 AM I love these products. They feel clean on my hair yet they do their job. Most volumizing products make my hair feel dirty and heavy. These are so clean and make my hair so easy to style. They even hold the style!
Overall Rating Overall Rating
Works for me! -12/18/2008 4:32:55 AM I'm almost 50 (yikes). I've always highlighted my hair and it was getting thin and very dry. This shampoo and matching conditioner totally transformed my hair. It now looks so healthy and beautiful. If it's too pricey for you, try it during a promotion. That's what I did and it's worth it!!
Overall Rating Overall Rating
I'm addicted to it -10/30/2008 6:29:33 PM I can't believe how well it works. I use this along with the conditioner. I see immediate result within the first use. My super dry, coarse hair turn out to be silky smooth. After 3 use, my split-ends are gone.
Overall Rating Overall Rating
Totally Ineffective -10/21/2008 8:50:45 AM This shampoo did nothing for my hair..a total waste of my hard earned your money ladies...if anything, it made my fine hair ever flatter!
Overall Rating Overall Rating
WAY OVER-PRICED -10/15/2008 5:01:01 AM This shampoo is way over priced for the results. sure,.it provides some volume,.but no more than a volumizing shampoo @ half the price or less. @ $30/I expect almost a miracle. I also found that it made my hair a bit dry and difficult to get the comb thru.
Overall Rating Overall Rating
no better than TreSemme -10/14/2008 5:36:21 PM Had high hopes based on previous reviews. But after three weeks of use, still no better than the much less expensive TreSemme for my long, graying hair. Would not recommend.
prev next
20% Off Storewide | Use code GIFT20 » 20% Off Storewide | Use code GIFT20 »

Additional Alterna Reviews Information

Color-treated hair has special needs. Sulfates in many shampoo products can cause even the most professionally-applied hair color to fade or change colors. Sulfate-free Alterna Bamboo UV Color Protection Vibrant Color Shampoo uses advanced Color Hold technology to protect color-treated hair and shield it against the sun. For hair that’s flat and lifeless, Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Body-Building Volume Shampoo gives hair a volume-lift that’s light-weight and movable, never stiff or sticky. When you’re in a hurry and don’t have time to shampoo, Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Dry Shampoo will reinvigorate and refresh your hair, giving it a fresh scent when you don’t have time to shampoo. It’s perfect for those days when you’re too busy to shampoo and blow dry. Find out what others are saying about this line of shampoos by visiting the Alterna Shampoos Reviews page. Here, customers share their personal experiences with the products.

To access reviews on all of the shampoos in the line, click on the Alterna Shampoos Reviews link on the introductory page. From here you’ll be taken to a growing list of reviews on the products. You can access reviews on a specific product directly from the product description page. Simply click on the “reviews” tab adjacent to the product description. Each reviewer has included information about their hair type, hair color and age so you can see how the products perform for people with hair similar to your own. For your convenience, you can sort reviews based on publication date or by highest ranked products. Once you’ve experienced the products for yourself, please return and leave Alterna Shampoos Reviews of your own. As always, we appreciate your feedback and reviews.

FREE Glycol Lactic Radiance Renewal Mask ($16 Value). Details »
Sale — While They Last »
Smart Shopping — Beauty Center
Hyaluronic Acid – Key Ingredient
FREE Neem Hand Oil ($13 Value). Details »
Skin Care Regimen »
2 steps to a new you — My Beauty Advisor