Memorial Day Savings — 20% off Storewide | code MAY20 » Memorial Day Savings — 20% off Storewide | code MAY20 »

Hair Care reviews

Sort results by:
prev next
SeattleSLEM Seattle
experimenter Age Group: 55+Gender: F
Pros: smells good, detangles well, only need a dime's with Cons: cost, does not manage frizziness
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Rahua Didn't Dua It For Me -8/16/2015 10:33:19 PM I was very excited about this product, especially after reading a positive review by singer Corrine Bailey Rae. Our hair is quite similar. However, Rahua increased the frizziness in my very fine, very curly hair (3B/3A). If you have nonporous hair, it may work well.
CapriciousStar Florida
experimenter Age Group: 55+Gender: F
Pros: heat quickly, ability to customize size of rollers Cons: individual rollers are heavy, rollers are hard to remove, when rollers hit the floor they crack, orginal set may have sizes you won't use
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Mixed: Really wanted these to be better -8/12/2015 6:35:28 AM I have used hot rollers for over 45 years. I ordered these when, after a bad hair cut, I needed something to add some curl to camouflage the choppy layers. Decided to splurge on the T3 rollers. I cannot see a huge difference in improved curl with these over the less expensive rollers I have bought for years at a beauty supply store. However, they are a little better. When used as directed there is no standard little metal clip that we are used to from the hot rollers that I started using in the early 1970's. When you remove the clip they provide, the roller, because they are so heavy, will often fall to the floor. The plastic on both ends is made of a very cheap, brittle material and when they hit the floor they crack and break off. This is totally unacceptable. For the smallest and medium size rollers, you can add the clips you would use on other rollers and then put the T3 clip on over it. That helps. However, for the largest rollers, the standard clips are too small and not as effective. The clip that T3 provides are good. They hold the roller securely in place and, used properly, will not leave a line as some other clips that cover the hair will do. T3 really needs to find a different, more resilient plastic to put on these rollers. And they need to add the additional standard clips to hold the rollers in place so they don't fall out when you remove their large clip. I have used previous hot rollers of different brands for years without any damage to the rollers when I have dropped them. And eventually they will get dropped. In other reviews I read before I bought the set, I noticed this concern from others and ignored it. However, these rollers are heavy. The heating element is in the roller - which is what makes them heat faster and hotter. However, it is what makes them slip out of your grasp very quickly. Once cracked, they are done. You have to replace the individual roller in a set of two. Also, I have thick, long hair. This requires more rollers than are provided in the eight roller set. If you add extra rollers - there is not enough room to put all the rollers and clips away in the soft sided, zip to close case that comes with this set. So you need to buy a separate case to hold the extras and T3 doesn't sell a matching case for extra rollers, etc. The rollers do heat very quickly and seem a bit hotter than others I have used. And that is what I was hoping for. But to continue using this set, I need to replace at least 4 rollers after less than 1 year of use. Also need to buy a couple more rollers of the medium size because the largest size doesn't give me the curl or volume that I need for my hair. Another pro / con is that the set is what you get, however, unlike other hot roller sets you can add more of the size you like and just remove the ones you don't use and put them in another case for possible future use. I have not seen any other hot rollers with the ability to customize the sizes in the set. Especially in the small, travel size. Overall, the product is a disappointment - however, the positives have me on the fence about buying replacement and additional rollers.
SkinStoreAddict
brandLoyalist Age Group: 55+Gender: FHair Color: blondeHair Type: chemically treated
Pros: pleasant fragrance Cons: weighs hair down
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Misleading description -7/23/2015 5:43:04 AM The description for this product just says it's a pomade for dry hair. While you can't see it on the photo, the product label says it's designed for curly, coiled, and relaxed hair. It's a shea butter leave-in to be applied to dry hair. You need to have the type of hair that this product is designed for in order to get value from it.
JoBee Mystic, CT
brandLoyalist Age Group: 55+Gender: FHair Color: blondeHair Type: curly
Pros: pleasant fragrance, daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating
Only shampoo and conditioner I'll use -7/11/2015 4:41:34 AM Been using this product for years. Makes my hair looks its fullest. I believe it strengthens my hair. It also takes care of frizziness.
Docksider Hilton Head Island, SC
experimenter Age Group: 55+Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: limp/fine/thin
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
minimizes oily look -6/25/2015 9:28:44 PM Since adolescence, my hair has been so oily I've needed to wash it every day, if I wanted it to look good. After trying several dry shampoos, I've found this one to be absolutely the best. I can skip a day of washing, use the dry shampoo, even use a round brush and dryer to refresh the style, and I'm good to go. Travel size is a huge help, also, as who wants to wash hair every day when you're on holiday!
nanny hoboken
productJunkietop250Contributor Age Group: 55+Gender: FHair Color: redHair Type: limp/fine/thin
Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, daily use, cnditons
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Another great product from Alterna -6/13/2015 4:06:23 AM this spray protects hair during heat processes.. I use it with my hot rollers. It does not weigh down my fine hair. Never disappointed with alterna!
Kaelin6551 Zionsville, IN
brandLoyalisttop250Contributor Age Group: 45-54Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: limp/fine/thin
Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, daily use, helps with hair growth, eady to apply
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Does what it claims to do! -6/8/2015 7:50:18 PM I love this exlixir - I have very fine long hair and I do whatever I can to keep it healthy as changes with age happen. I don't have any specific problems with hair loss, but I do notice that after using this daily for two months, I have had a noticeable increase in my hair length. I actually end up needing a trim before my scheduled appointment with my stylist. My hair also seems healthier, which I attribute to the scalp nourishing component. I just wish it came in a larger size.
Kaelin6551 Zionsville, IN
brandLoyalisttop250Contributor Age Group: 45-54Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: limp/fine/thin
Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, daily use, adds shine, doesn't weigh hair down, instantly dry, doesn't fade color
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Great for adding shine without the side effects -6/8/2015 7:41:08 PM I love Alterna products, and this no exception. I use this as the finishing touch to my hair and since it's a dry oil, it goes on easily and doesn't leave that wet, weighed-down appearance other oil mists have a tendency to do. My hair remains full of volume, has a healthy look and gives me the benefits of smoothing out stray hairs. My only wish: that it came in a larger size!
Elzabeth
minimalist Age Group: 25-34Gender: FHair Color: redHair Type: chemically treated
Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, everything amazing
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Best shampoo I ever used -6/5/2015 8:07:55 PM I have tried everything from $2 shampoo to $50 and hardly ever gotten through a bottle happy. I was using Rahua before I found Arcona its was not bad but expensive. This shampoo is perfect a bottle lasts me about a month and Iv been using it for four now. Its everything you want, clean with out stripping, body, shine, soft and my curls bounce and form nicely. My hair has never been so happy!
saf2shel Corpus Christi, TX
experimenter Age Group: 45-54Gender: FHair Color: blondeHair Type: limp/fine/thin
Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Rahua -5/31/2015 2:46:21 AM Excellent natural shampoo, lathers well, makes my hair shine and does weigh it down. My husband has even started using it.
prev next
Guide to Gorgeous 2016 | The Summer Forecast is in » Guide to Gorgeous 2016 | The Summer Forecast is in »
Free Correcting Rescue Cream ($15 Value). Details »
All DERMAdoctor 20% Off | Shop DERMAdoctor »
Free Green Apple Peel Nightly Brightening Pads ($12 Value). Details »
Skin Care Regimen »
2 steps to a new you — My Beauty Advisor