Save $50 Storewide | use code GET50 — Details » Save $50 Storewide | use code GET50 — Details »

Shampoos reviews

Sort results by:
prev next
Katie88 Natick, MA
productJunkietop1Contributor Age Group: Under 25Gender: F
Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
very nice shampoo! -8/3/2011 2:16:44 PM I received this as a gift and I do like it. I have very thick, curly hair and I find this would better suite someone with thinner, more manageable hair. The Caudalie Shampoo is gentle, effective and lightly scented. While I prefer a different shampoo, this one is good, nevertheless. My mother has very thin hair and she can't stop raving about this! Different strokes for different folks.. thinner haired girls stock up!
sabrina14 Phoenix, Arizona
experimenter Age Group: 55+Gender: FHair Color: blondeHair Type: limp/fine/thin
Pros: pleasant fragrance, a little goes a long way, maintains hair color, nice consistency
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Good Product To Make Ends Stronger and Fight Frizz -8/3/2011 12:56:34 PM My hair is fine and I was looking for a shampoo that cleaned my hair without fading the color plus strengthening my hair so that I could comb through the damp ends without pulling out too much hair. This product also left my hair with some good body. The Anti Frizz Shampoo lived up to it's promise. After shampooing I am able to comb out the frizz with the added help of Alterna's Kendi Oil (Dry Oil Mist). I would recommend the purchase of both products as I have noticed the improvement in the strength and shine of my hair.
Perfectionist
experimenter Age Group: 25-34Gender: FHair Color: blondeHair Type: oily
Pros: pleasant fragrance, doesn't burn scalp
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
I like it! -8/2/2011 10:15:58 PM Out of all of the shampoos Ive tried this far, ARCONA Green Tea Cleansing Base Shampoo is the only one that doesnt burn my scalp. I have a very sensitive scalp. I cant use any shampoo with SLS. Ive tried many natural shampoos (brands like Jurlique, Desert Essence Organics, etc.) and had no luck until Ive found Arcona. I like the fresh scent. One bottle of this shampoo lasts for about 3 months (my hair are shoulder length and I wash it almost every other day). The only drawback of the ARCONA Green Tea Cleansing Base Shampoo is that I wish it would control scalps oil production better so that I wouldnt need to wash my hair so often.
jolandaLO New York City
minimalist Age Group: Under 25Gender: FHair Color: brunetteHair Type: curly
Pros: pleasant fragrance, daily use
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Best Ever -7/28/2011 8:01:48 PM This shampoo is the best shampoo ever and i have tried many of them from high end to low end and the first time i tried this i could not believe how my curly hair looked and felt, This will be my shampoo for a really long time.
Elizabeth123 Alexandria VA
experimenter Age Group: 45-54Gender: F
Pros: pleasant fragrance, gentle, conditioning, only need a small amount, volumizing
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Terrific shampoo; fabulous system! -7/26/2011 3:27:55 PM This is a great shampoo! When I started using it, I had shoulder-length, wavy/curly hair that was pretty darned dry and although each hair is fine, I have a LOT of it. I quickly discovered that using a quarter-size dollop was actually using too much shampoo, so with shoulder-length hair I ended up using a nickle-size dollop to get my hair clean. The shampoo alone left my hair feeling like it had been both conditioned and volumized. I loved the way it felt in the shower (clean, fresh and conditioned (still squeaked, but a good soft squeak instead of a dried out rough feeling) and since this was new, I decided to skip the conditioners and just style it as usual and see what happened. Lo and behold, my hair looked fabulous, felt great and had a ton of volume as well (I had a good hair week as I only needed to wash my hair once a week). I also tried all the other options over the course of the next few weeks: shampoo and rinse-out conditioner; shampoo, rinse-out conditioner and the jar of leave-in conditioner. Well, what can I say, I love that magic in a jar! It does wonders for my hair and magic for my curls! Even where my hair is just barely wavy, somehow that jarred magic makes my hair behave and curl up nicely (why can't we all have the hair we want when we want it?!). Well, I got my hair cut a few weeks ago and now it's near pixie-short--what a change! I wash it more frequently now (I get some squirrley bed head looks that can't just be brushed out). Now I use less than a dime-sized dollop of shampoo and maybe a dime's worth of wash-out conditioner once a week. The magic in a jar still works wonders, but the shampoo still provides the base for all that magic. The shampoo leaves my hair soft, conditioned, full of volume and smelling fresh and clean. I love it. And at the rate I'm using it (a dime size dollop at a time), I've barely made a dent in the bottle, so this first bottle of shampoo (and conditioner and magic in a jar) will probably last me the better part of a year...or more!
nobska19 Washington, DC
productJunkietop10Contributor Age Group: 25-34Gender: FHair Color: redHair Type: curly
Pros: pleasant fragrance Cons: doesn't detangle
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
wanted to love, but... -7/21/2011 10:26:42 PM I have long, fine, curly, dry hair and was excited to find this new Ojon product. However, what I really need in a shampoo is a gentle wash and the start of detangling the snarls that develop over the course of a couple of days. This shampoo did not feel so gentle on my hair, and it did absolutely nothing whatsoever in terms of detangling. Perhaps this is meant for someone with straight hair who doesn't have an issue with detangling. But for me, I threw the bottle away after using about 1/3 of it.
batcountry84 Virginia Beach, VA
experimenter Age Group: 25-34Gender: FHair Color: blondeHair Type: dry
Pros: maintains hair color, daily use Cons: unpleasant fragrance
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Feels good but bad smell -7/21/2011 6:13:18 AM I smelt the product when it first arrived and I was very iffy about it. It smells like an old perfume mixed with baby powder. Vey strong and very unpleasant once I used it. It even overpowered my body perfume!
katz New York, Ny
experimenter Age Group: Under 25Gender: FHair Color: blondeHair Type: oily
Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, daily use, little goes a long way
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
I'd definitely buy this again! -7/20/2011 1:42:26 PM Great shampoo, very gentle, the fragrance is so refreshing and clean! I have medium length hair, my scalp is very oily and the ends are very dry so i do have to wash my hair every day, sometimes even twice a day and i still half at least 2 weeks left of it and i had the bottle for 3 month! so yeah besides it being a great shampoo it also last a long time! Definitely a great buy!
Mimi3 Daytona Beach, FL
experimenter Age Group: 55+Gender: FHair Color: blondeHair Type: limp/fine/thin
Pros: maintains hair color, increases volume
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Does what it says it will do -7/17/2011 9:10:52 AM I tried both the moisturizing and volume versions of this shampoo and the corresponding conditioners, and there is a big difference on my fine, slightly thinning hair. The moisturizing products left it soft, but pretty limp. The volumizers made my short hair look fuller and gave it a little support at the roots. Great stuff!
nobska19 Washington, DC
productJunkietop10Contributor Age Group: 25-34Gender: FHair Color: redHair Type: curly
Pros: pleasant fragrance, softens, detangles, lathers well, concentrated
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
terrific shampoo for curly hair -6/30/2011 5:01:10 PM I have curly hair that's dry and fine and tends towards frizziness, especially in the DC summer humidity. I'm loving this shampoo... it's really concentrated so a little goes a long way -- this helps deflect the price of a bottle. It lathers super-well for a sulfate-free shampoo and leaves my hair and scalp clean without being stripped of its natural oils. I have a terrible time with tangles, and I find that while I'm lathering with this shampoo I can start to detangle my hair with my fingers. Pleasant, mild fragrance that doesn't linger on hair; I find that my hair is super-soft after use. I'm looking forward to trying other products in Alterna's sulfate-free line.
prev next
See Ultimate Solutions for Eyes » See Ultimate Solutions for Eyes »
FREE The Travel Set ($60 Value). Details »
Sale — While They Last »
Smart Shopping — Beauty Center
Sunflower – Key Ingredient
FREE Dermal Repair Cream ($21 Value. Details »
Skin Care Regimen »
2 steps to a new you — My Beauty Advisor