Save 20% Storewide use code FALL20 » Save 20% Storewide use code FALL20 »

After Shave reviews

Sort results by:
prev next
MSJD D.C.
brandLoyalist Age Group: 25-34Gender: M
Pros: stops nicks from bleeding
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Fast and Easy Way to Stop Bleeding Razor Nicks -9/4/2011 10:29:16 AM I bought a single Alum Block about 5 years ago and I am still using it--it seems to last forever. I use it in two different ways. First, I use it to stop the bleeding from any razor nicks. I simply get the block wet and then hold it against the cut for about 5-10 seconds. It then stops the bleeding. It is FAR better than putting a piece of toilet paper on the cut. Second, I use it on razor burn. Sometimes when I shave every day for several days in a row, the skin on my neck gets a little bit "strawberry-ish". I put some water on the block and rub the block all over my neck. I then put on the Art of Shaving Unscented After Shave Balm. The Alum Block stops the stinging and closes the little mini-cuts, and the Balm soothes and moisturizes. The Alum Block is an excellent value and I stongly reccomend it to all men, and also women who have issues with razor burn on thier legs, etc.
Andy43
Pros: pleasant fragrance, smooth texture, light
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Milky goodness -8/27/2011 6:39:59 PM One of the better aftershaves I've tried. Very soothing and scent is there, yet not overpowering. Very nice.
Katie88 Natick, MA
productJunkietop1Contributor Age Group: Under 25Gender: F
Pros: pleasant fragrance, smooth texture, light
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Wonderful product! -8/6/2011 6:13:52 PM My boyfriend and I both love this. Prior to using an electric razor, it sets up your beard, or your leg hair for a smooth irritant free shave. If you have a nick or cut, it works well to keep it free of germs and speeds healing. Highly recommend this product!
Katie88 Natick, MA
productJunkietop1Contributor Age Group: Under 25Gender: F
Pros: pleasant fragrance, smooth texture, light Cons: broke easily, crumbled quickly
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Did work for the week I had it... -8/6/2011 5:06:40 PM This Styptic Pen worked beautifully at first use but that's it. Week in, it began crumbling. The Styptic Pen does not stay attached to the black case. It falls out after about a week of use. I love "The Art of Shaving" products... just not this one. Go for the simple Styptic Pen that looks like a small crayon. I do not recommend this product, unfourtunately.
Katie88 Natick, MA
productJunkietop1Contributor Age Group: Under 25Gender: F
Pros: pleasant fragrance, smooth texture, light
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Delicious smelling and feeling! -8/6/2011 3:04:43 PM I really like this aftershave balm. I'm just now ordering my second bottle, after having the first one for almost 10 months now. The scent is light and it just makes you feel fresh. The balm is not too thick or too thin, and it goes on your face really nice and smooth and does not leave your skin oily - just feeling fresh and clean. Highly recommend it.
Katie88 Natick, MA
productJunkietop1Contributor Age Group: Under 25Gender: F
Pros: pleasant fragrance, smooth texture, light, comforting
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Really nice balm! -8/6/2011 2:12:39 PM My boyfriend LOVES this brand, particularly this product. He has a very hard time finding moisturizers that don't break his skin out, but this one is great for him. It's also not at all oily or sticky. The lavender scent is nice, not too strong. We both share it, too! Highly recommend this.
Katie88 Natick, MA
productJunkietop1Contributor Age Group: Under 25Gender: F
Pros: smooth texture, light
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Hardly "unscented" but great product otherwise! -8/6/2011 1:58:29 PM My boyfriend is a HUGE fan of TAOS and so am I. He uses the after shave balms more frequently than I do and he was the first to mention the terrible scent associated with this one. He loves the Sandalwood and the Lemon but this smells funky. I feel if they are going to make something "unscented" it really should be! Otherwise fabulous working product. Really moisturizes and refreshes after a shave and keeps us soft all day!
Katie88 Natick, MA
productJunkietop1Contributor Age Group: Under 25Gender: F
Pros: pleasant fragrance, smooth texture, light
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Boyfriend approved -8/6/2011 1:18:30 PM This is my boyfriends favorite after shave. He has sensitive skin and this really seems to help. I know that if he didn't like this stuff, he would search for another brand, but he hasn't. He even asked if I could order it online! He loves all of the AOS products and I do too. Highly recommend this for comfort after shaving.. it feels wonderful even on my legs (I'll use the unscented.)
Moo3 Philadelphia, PA
experimenter Age Group: 35-44Gender: M
Pros: pleasant fragrance, smooth texture, light
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
An after shave for the sensative man! -8/5/2011 8:35:09 PM I have tried numerous after shaves because my skin is extremely sensitive. So far, this has been nothing but soothing, protective to my face. Even though it is pricey, you only need a nickle size amount to receive the effects. This is a great after shave for anyone with sensitive skin.
MSJD D.C.
brandLoyalist Age Group: 25-34Gender: M
Pros: smooth texture, natural
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Best Aftershave -5/29/2011 6:30:05 PM This is an excellent after shave. I used the Lemon-fragrance version of this product for several years before switching to the Unscented version about a year ago. Both balms are perfect as an aftershave. This balm includes high quallity, natural ingriedients. A lot of companies say they are "natural", but either thier products have a bunch of chemicals, or if they are actually natural they do not work well. But this balm uses almost exclusively natural ingriedients AND it works well. It goes on smooth, absorbs well, moisturizes the skin, does not leave a greasy glaze, and helps prevent/relieve razor burn. Although it say "Unscented" there is a slight, relatively neutral odor due to the natural ingriedients. Overall, an excellent product--I just wish they sold a larger size for a discount.
prev next
The Fall Forecast is in » The Fall Forecast is in »
FREE Starter Kit ($50 Value). Details »
Sale — While They Last »
Smart Shopping — Beauty Center
Ribes Nigrum – Key Ingredient
FREE Neroli Rehydrating Cleansing Milk ($10 Value). Details »
Skin Care Regimen »
2 steps to a new you — My Beauty Advisor