Save 15% Storewide | Use code 4DAD » Save 15% Storewide | Use code 4DAD »

Sun reviews

Sort results by:
prev next
cateb Connecticut
productJunkie Age Group: 45-54Gender: FSkin Type: sensitive
Pros: pleasant fragrance Cons: greasy, heavy, separates!, turns your skin white
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
eh, it's in the lowest third of the many -6/28/2014 8:31:28 PM Am a physical (meaning titanium/zinc oxide) sunscreen collector, trying to find the HG. Like this type of sunscreen because it works instantly and I am not going to sit around for 1/2 hour to have it activate. I Have to wear sunscreen every day since I've had melanoma removed twice, though we all should, right? Have used MD Solar Science, Clarins, Anthelios, Josie Maran (no longer made, boo!) this one, Replenix, Skinceuticals, Peter Thomas Roth and many more. I judge them based on (1) do they rub in or stay on the surface making my face whitish and ghostly. That's a real issue with physical sunscreens and this one doesn't pass the test. (2) is the consistency good for the face? No, it's a bit heavy...and worse, it separates in the tube, so watery stuff comes out first, then blobs. So you have to shake the tube. (3) is it greasy? Yeah, this one is a little, though there are worse. BTW, Winner by a long shot is an obscure brand I found on this site after reading for hours through all the options: Replenix, which appears to have lots of other good ingredients, a bonus, on top of being a light consistency that doesn't separate and rubs in quickly to disappear completely.
SisqB Northern California
experimentertop50Contributor Age Group: 55+Gender: FSkin Type: oily
Pros: gentle, lightweight, smooth texture, doesn't sting or migrate, great primer for eye makeup, conceals
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Sunscreen for the eyes! -6/16/2014 10:50:41 AM This is a super nice sunscreen for the eye area that absolutely will not sting or migrate into your eyes. It dries matte and makes an excellent primer for eye makeup and/or an under-eye concealer. I've been using it for a couple of weeks and really love it!
linnylou Colorado
productJunkie Age Group: 55+Gender: FSkin Type: dry
Pros: absorbs quickly, gentle, lightweight, smooth texture
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Best ever face sunscreen -6/7/2014 10:07:30 AM This is the best sunscreen I have ever used on my face without any kind of reaction! I love that it is unscented and very light and absorbing and there is no white film whatsoever left on my skin!!
TC45 Ga
experimenter Age Group: 55+Gender: FSkin Type: combination
Pros: absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance, gentle, lightweight, smooth texture
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Love This Sun Product -5/28/2014 10:58:25 AM This has been the best sunscreen for my face that I have ever used. It's lightweight and does not clog my pores and cause breakouts and red spots like other sunscreens. I have some brown spots I'm treating with products that emphasize using sun protection. Plus, I've had sunspots removed that my doctor said were a sign my skin has had too much sun exposure. This is my foundation and sunscreen for the summer. It works without the white opaque look of some products and soaks in leaving a smooth finish and no harsh chemicals!
SnowWhite North Carolina
brandLoyalist Age Group: 45-54Gender: FSkin Type: combination
Pros: absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance, gentle, lightweight, smooth texture, non-whitening Cons: cost will prevent some from trying it
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
I've been waiting for this all of my life! -5/26/2014 9:12:22 AM I've been a Skinceuticals devotee for more than a decade and the proof of SC's superior science and ingredients is my face. At 49 I have the skin of a healthy 35 year old. With regard to sunscreens, I've always relied on drug store brands but have never used it consistently because of the ghostly whitening effect on my already alabaster skin, the stickiness, and unpleasant aromas, even when unscented. This formula is cosmetically elegant and I can use it anywhere. While even unscented formulas have some kind of aroma, I find this pleasant. I will continue to use this sunscreen on my hands, arms, dcollet, throat, ears, and face on a daily basis. With a history of skin cancer in my family, and my dark hair, ivory skin, and green eyes I must do all I can to protect myself and Skinceuticals is my best defense.
AngeCF7 Cleveland, OH
experimenter Age Group: 45-54Gender: FSkin Type: sensitive
Pros: lightweight, smooth texture
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Sun protection Skin Medica -5/16/2014 11:23:21 AM Very good product and works best over your moisturizer. A little pricey but this is a quality proven brand. If skin is dry you might see a little flaking that's why it's best over moisturizer.
sleighto guilford, ct
productJunkie Age Group: 55+Gender: FSkin Type: sensitive
Pros: absorbs quickly, lightweight
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Coola sunscreens rock! -5/15/2014 4:17:50 AM After unsuccessfully trying every sunscreen known to man on my crazy sensitive face, I started using Coola unscented spf 30 for the face. It has great anti-aging ingredients and doesn't bother my face at all. I now use it as my daily moisturizer. This led me to buy the spf 45 which I use on my arms and legs when I run in the morning and the spf 30 body which I keep in my car for my hands Though I'm in New England, my sunroof's always open.). They are absolutely amazing products and SkinStore's discounts make them even better!!!
skinster Lexington KY
brandLoyalisttop250Contributor Age Group: 55+Gender: FSkin Type: normal
Pros: absorbs quickly, lightweight, smooth texture
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Best yet -5/14/2014 3:46:17 AM I've used LaRoche Posay for years. The sunscreens are the best. This product is my new favorite. A well protected but white face is a thing of the past. I use it daily. It is my new light foundation. The color blends perfectly to my skin tone. My sister has fairer skin than I and it blends perfectly for her as well. I have purchased this product for several friends. They all love it.
Sioux7 Hermitage TN
brandLoyalist Age Group: 55+Gender: FSkin Type: normal
Pros: absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance, lightweight, smooth texture, does not burn eyes!, love the tint, leaves a smooth not shiny appearance Cons: questionable applicator
Overall Rating Overall Rating
Beyond my favorite -4/27/2014 10:00:22 AM I have used this sunscreen for many years. It has gone through several container forms... some of which were failures. The current tube is an improvement, but I wonder how long it will pump properly. I have used other sunscreens that will make my eyes sting when I perspire. This one does not. I love the satiny finish this one has, and I think the product is good for my skin. It is kind of expensive though
VancityVixen
Pros: absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance, gentle, lightweight, smooth texture, soaks up oil for entire day
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
AMAZING! I'll use this til the day I die! -4/26/2014 9:18:59 PM I've had super oily skin for years and after trying tons of products and going to different dermatologists with no luck, my current derm recommended this product to me and it works like a charm. I apply it in the morning and it soaks up all my oil throughout the day leaving me SHINE-LESS. You don't need to use a lot so it lasts months and it's a great price. No more blotting tissues for me! Thank you DCL!!
prev next
20% Off Select Men's Brands » 20% Off Select Men's Brands »
FREE Purely Bright Treatment Serum ($30 Value). Details »
Now only $99 | Clarisonic Pedi. Get Yours »
FREE Mini Starter Kit ($25 Value). Details »
Skin Care Regimen »
2 steps to a new you — My Beauty Advisor