Last Day! Save 20% Storewide use code SUM20 — Details » Last Day! Save 20% Storewide use code SUM20 — Details »

Self Tanners reviews

Sort results by:
prev next
torc
Gender: F
Pros: absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance
Overall Rating Overall Rating
Good Stuff -2/19/2011 11:49:45 PM I love fakebake products and this face one is is very good.
DBJ3 West Chester, PA
productJunkie Age Group: 45-54Gender: FSkin Type: normal
Pros: absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance, gentle, lightweight, smooth texture Cons: don't expect to get too dark
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Not Dark Enough -12/7/2010 6:16:55 AM I was hopeful for this product because of a review I read however for the price, I wasn't happy that I could hardly see a difference in the color of my skin. I like the fact that it has some skin health benefits and has no oder but I need more in a self tanner.
Cosmodiva Nashville, TN
experimenter Age Group: 55+Gender: FSkin Type: normal
Pros: absorbs quickly, gentle, lightweight
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
The best self tanner!! -10/26/2010 12:53:36 PM I have tried hundreds of self tanners ovr the years and the Fake Bake srpay is the best by far. I love the way it just sprays on so even (keep it about 12 inches away). The color is so natural and the more you use it the smoother it goes on. This is the best product ever. I just wish there were more places I could find it cliser to me. Great Product Fake Bake!!!
skyskraper Minneapolis
productJunkie Age Group: 35-44Gender: FSkin Type: normal
Pros: absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance, lightweight
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Handy for Travel -8/12/2010 7:04:16 AM These are great for travel! No messy lotion or spray. I feel like it blends in and dries quickly. This is a nice change from the usual lotions which stay moist and sticky and are hard to get on evenly. It has a nice, natural tan color...NOT orange.
MommaS NJ
experimenter Age Group: 35-44Gender: FSkin Type: combination
Pros: absorbs quickly, gentle, lightweight, great color
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
best face self tanner -4/14/2010 8:05:55 PM I have tried almost everything on the market and this is the only face self tanner I like. All the other ones (even the Estee Lauders and expensive face ones) make you too "gold" which can look orange in some lights. This one is a nice brown color. I admit it doesn't last that long (I reapply every day) but no self tanner lasts long on the face because you are always washing/exfoliating the skin. They changed the formula slightly and liked it even better before, but I still like it enough to not waste my money on anything else.
Shmoovee Mpls., MN
productJunkietop100Contributor Age Group: 35-44Gender: FSkin Type: combination
Pros: no orange
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Long Way From QT! -1/30/2010 10:09:01 PM I've seen this product on TV and read the reviews,and having just returned from some time in the Caribbean, I needed a non-tanning bed way to try to keep my color. (I look horrible in the winter) I was a skeptic as well, but I must say these do work, without the awful,fake orange color I've found in almost every other self tanner. The serious exfoliation I did first was crucial,I believe- I used a non-greasy formula so that nothing was left on my skin.The color is truly natural,a really nice brown- it compares very well with what's left of my sun tan.The scent is a little strong but not as bad as other ST's, and there was no streaking or 'clumping' of color. The first application was not enough (for me) so I repeated as suggested after a few hours. It fades a bit quicker than I'd hoped, but one towel does cover all over. I am sold on these; just wish they'd put more than 5 pieces in the box! Five dollars a towel seems a little high... but it's better than scaring yourself with winter ghostliness, and I feel I look better. There's no price tag on a mid-winter uplift!
surferwife1960 San Diego
productJunkie Age Group: 45-54Gender: FSkin Type: sensitive
Pros: absorbs quickly, gentle Cons: sticky, heavy, terrible smell
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Too yellow for me -6/9/2009 9:02:59 PM I'm very fair skinned and this product made me look yellowish/tan instead of brownish. The sprayer clogs up a lot when you tilt the can to spray the back of your legs and your back. Plus I don't like to have an instead bronzer color in it because whenever you dry off with a towel that bronzer color rubs off on the towel or comes off on your sheets. Yes it washes out but it's a pain to have to wash a towel or your sheets every time you use it. I now use a product that doesn't have a 'bronzer' in it, it sprays clear and then tans overnight, it's great!! and it doesn't smell!!! I would never buy this again.
surferwife1960 San Diego
experimenter Age Group: 45-54Gender: FSkin Type: sensitive
Pros: absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance, gentle, lightweight, smooth texture Cons: left no color after shower
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
No lasting color -6/9/2009 8:43:00 PM I tried this 'face' tanner because I liked the brand however this product does not leave a tan. Use your regular self-tanner lotion and save your money. I tried this product every night until I used it all up and it never left any color. In the morning when I took a shower all the color would wash right off my face. I thought this was supposed to be a "tanner" but it's not. What a waist of money!!!!!!!!!
PJ50ish Nashville, TN
productJunkie Age Group: 45-54Gender: FSkin Type: combination
Pros: absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance, gentle, lightweight, smooth texture Cons: spray is too direct and runny
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Love the color;application disappointing -5/26/2009 7:13:04 AM I love the color of this tanner after it is applied. Very natural brown. But when it comes out it is NOT a nice even mist, but shoots out with too much force. I had to apply it in bursts on my skin or in the palm of my hand, and smooth it in with my hands, which were a purply blueberry color afterward. I used hand wash and Mary Kay waterproof eye makeup remover and more soap and water to remove. Later in the day, no color on my hands. If this stuff came in a mousse or lotion, it would be great. No overpowering smell and the tan is very natural;no oranginess at all. I applied moisturizer before and left it on my hands which helps.
surferwife San Diego, California
minimalist Age Group: 45-54Gender: FSkin Type: sensitive
Pros: absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance, gentle, lightweight, smooth texture, great tan color, light air brush spray, spray gets everywhere you want to, spray lightly you can always spray again
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Best I've tried by far -4/24/2009 6:33:37 AM 2 times I had gotten a salon spray tan but it got too expensive. $50 a pop, and you have to spray every 8 days to keep it up. So I tried different products to see if I could come close to finding that simlar color myself. I used about 8-9 different brands before I tried Fake Bake, which was recommended to me (by the other girls in the salon where I used to get sprayed - I told them I had to stop using the "salon spray" because it was too expensive). I then tried the Fake Bake they recommended and was so impressed I ordered more the next day from my salon. I now get a natural looking tan with "no" orange or "no" yellow color. I had almost given up until I found this product. I also just found and ordered online the Fake Bake kits, which include either: Self-Tan-Lotion/cond.Oil/scrub or Self-Tan-Foam/cond. Oil/scrub and I also ordered the Fake Bake "face" tanner. Right now I use the regular spray on my face which worked really well but I wanted to try the "face" lotion because it said it gave a "deeper" tan (also the foam and lotion). I can't wait to get them and try them too. I would highly recommend these prdoucts to anyone who's looking for that natural color tan. It's so easy to use and no terrible odor either. I spray at night and go to sleep, then shower off in the morning and I'm good to go. I'm a 48 year old housewife with blond hair, very fair skin, I don't tan I burn plus I just don't like laying out in the sun. My husband is a surfer, so I always felt like a ghost standing next to him. Also, now that's it's almost summer I like to wear shorts on our hikes but usually fell so selfconscience because of my white legs, so I tried the fake approach and love it! I've had so many compliments on my "tan". I've tried Loreal, Neutrogena, Jergins, Nivea, Banana Boat, so many others I can't remember them all right now but at least 8-9. I finally found my favorite color in Fake Bake!!!
prev next
The Summer Forecast is in | g2g » The Summer Forecast is in | g2g »
FREE Youth Complex ($60 Value). Details »
Now only $99 | Clarisonic Pedi. Get Yours »
FREE True Isaac Mizrahi FULL SIZE Sheer Lip Shine ($18 Value). Details »
Skin Care Regimen »
2 steps to a new you — My Beauty Advisor