Save $50 Storewide | use code GET50 — Details » Save $50 Storewide | use code GET50 — Details »

Self Tanners reviews

Sort results by:
prev next
surferwife San Diego, California
minimalist Age Group: 45-54Gender: FSkin Type: sensitive
Pros: absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance, gentle, lightweight, smooth texture, great tan color, light air brush spray, spray gets everywhere you want to, spray lightly you can always spray again
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
Best I've tried by far -4/24/2009 6:33:37 AM 2 times I had gotten a salon spray tan but it got too expensive. $50 a pop, and you have to spray every 8 days to keep it up. So I tried different products to see if I could come close to finding that simlar color myself. I used about 8-9 different brands before I tried Fake Bake, which was recommended to me (by the other girls in the salon where I used to get sprayed - I told them I had to stop using the "salon spray" because it was too expensive). I then tried the Fake Bake they recommended and was so impressed I ordered more the next day from my salon. I now get a natural looking tan with "no" orange or "no" yellow color. I had almost given up until I found this product. I also just found and ordered online the Fake Bake kits, which include either: Self-Tan-Lotion/cond.Oil/scrub or Self-Tan-Foam/cond. Oil/scrub and I also ordered the Fake Bake "face" tanner. Right now I use the regular spray on my face which worked really well but I wanted to try the "face" lotion because it said it gave a "deeper" tan (also the foam and lotion). I can't wait to get them and try them too. I would highly recommend these prdoucts to anyone who's looking for that natural color tan. It's so easy to use and no terrible odor either. I spray at night and go to sleep, then shower off in the morning and I'm good to go. I'm a 48 year old housewife with blond hair, very fair skin, I don't tan I burn plus I just don't like laying out in the sun. My husband is a surfer, so I always felt like a ghost standing next to him. Also, now that's it's almost summer I like to wear shorts on our hikes but usually fell so selfconscience because of my white legs, so I tried the fake approach and love it! I've had so many compliments on my "tan". I've tried Loreal, Neutrogena, Jergins, Nivea, Banana Boat, so many others I can't remember them all right now but at least 8-9. I finally found my favorite color in Fake Bake!!!
jennitha
Overall Rating Overall Rating
nice -9/19/2008 7:39:55 AM
Kaydie
Overall Rating Overall Rating
Awesome -8/9/2008 6:27:19 PM I love this product! I have tried many others but this has to be the best ever.
kim
Overall Rating Overall Rating
very natural -6/24/2008 7:22:20 AM looked like i just got back from vacation.
kristin
Overall Rating Overall Rating
easiest fake tanner! -5/21/2008 12:03:13 PM the color is great, and the application is so simple... my hands don't even end up discolored as they do with all the lotion-type tanners. the color is great, too! do use it in a bigger room, it is a super-fine mist, so it will drift onto objects (and the floor) within a 5' radius of where you are using it.
Natalie
Overall Rating Overall Rating
Orange & Streaky -5/6/2008 10:40:18 PM Diffacult to apply, streaks, very orange around wrists, elbows, knees, & ankles. Try Jan Marini Bioglycolic Sunless Self Tanner. I tried it after the Tan Towel and it works way better! No orange streaks, natural looking tan, smooth skin. Also, Clarins Self Tanning Instant Gel works great.
Amanda
Overall Rating Overall Rating
spay tan -4/14/2008 12:25:38 PM This product did come out in a strange pruple mess but just rub it in with both hands and than wash your hands. The color develops in a short time and drys very fast. The smell is almost not at all. great product and easy to use.
m walsh
Overall Rating Overall Rating
just awful -2/25/2008 6:29:42 AM If you're going to use a spray on tan-just go to a salon. This product's so called "fine mist" gets all over, you would have to be outside to not stain your home. Additionally, you have to rub it in (staining your hands in the process)-so you might as well use a lotion. Just terrible.
Joy
Overall Rating Overall Rating
TanTowels ROCK!!!! -2/21/2008 5:07:20 PM These are the easiest way to get a tan without the sun!!!! The color comes out very natural (even on me and I'm very pale). Always looks great, lasts several days and fades gradually. They do have a bit of a smell, but so far I haven't found a self-tanner that doesn't and these are soooo worth it!!!!
Susan in Texas
Overall Rating Overall Rating
Where's the Color??? -1/9/2008 6:24:29 AM I thought we had all moved forward into the "instant color" days. This is just back to guess work. Some areas are lighter, some are darker and some I just missed! Then you have to buy the tan towel too just to try to smooth it out.
prev next
See Ultimate Solutions for Eyes » See Ultimate Solutions for Eyes »
FREE The Travel Set ($60 Value). Details »
Sale — While They Last »
Smart Shopping — Beauty Center
Sunflower – Key Ingredient
FREE Dermal Repair Cream ($21 Value. Details »
Skin Care Regimen »
2 steps to a new you — My Beauty Advisor