PRETTY PARTY PICKS | Find Yours »


Self Tanners reviews

  

« prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9-13 | next »
Sort results by:

MommaS NJ Pros: absorbs quickly, gentle, lightweight, great color
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
experimenter
Age Group: 35-44Gender: FSkin Type: combination
best face self tanner - 4/14/2010 8:05:55 PM I have tried almost everything on the market and this is the only face self tanner I like. All the other ones (even the Estee Lauders and expensive face ones) make you too "gold" which can look orange in some lights. This one is a nice brown color. I admit it doesn't last that long (I reapply every day) but no self tanner lasts long on the face because you are always washing/exfoliating the skin. They changed the formula slightly and liked it even better before, but I still like it enough to not waste my money on anything else.
Shmoovee Mpls., MN Pros: no orange
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
productJunkietop100Contributor
Age Group: 35-44Gender: FSkin Type: combination
Long Way From QT! - 1/30/2010 10:09:01 PM I've seen this product on TV and read the reviews,and having just returned from some time in the Caribbean, I needed a non-tanning bed way to try to keep my color. (I look horrible in the winter) I was a skeptic as well, but I must say these do work, without the awful,fake orange color I've found in almost every other self tanner. The serious exfoliation I did first was crucial,I believe- I used a non-greasy formula so that nothing was left on my skin.The color is truly natural,a really nice brown- it compares very well with what's left of my sun tan.The scent is a little strong but not as bad as other ST's, and there was no streaking or 'clumping' of color. The first application was not enough (for me) so I repeated as suggested after a few hours. It fades a bit quicker than I'd hoped, but one towel does cover all over. I am sold on these; just wish they'd put more than 5 pieces in the box! Five dollars a towel seems a little high... but it's better than scaring yourself with winter ghostliness, and I feel I look better. There's no price tag on a mid-winter uplift!
surferwife1960 San Diego Pros: absorbs quickly, gentle Cons: sticky, heavy, terrible smell
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
productJunkie
Age Group: 45-54Gender: FSkin Type: sensitive
Too yellow for me - 6/9/2009 9:02:59 PM I'm very fair skinned and this product made me look yellowish/tan instead of brownish. The sprayer clogs up a lot when you tilt the can to spray the back of your legs and your back. Plus I don't like to have an instead bronzer color in it because whenever you dry off with a towel that bronzer color rubs off on the towel or comes off on your sheets. Yes it washes out but it's a pain to have to wash a towel or your sheets every time you use it. I now use a product that doesn't have a 'bronzer' in it, it sprays clear and then tans overnight, it's great!! and it doesn't smell!!! I would never buy this again.
surferwife1960 San Diego Pros: absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance, gentle, lightweight, smooth texture Cons: left no color after shower
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
experimenter
Age Group: 45-54Gender: FSkin Type: sensitive
No lasting color - 6/9/2009 8:43:00 PM I tried this 'face' tanner because I liked the brand however this product does not leave a tan. Use your regular self-tanner lotion and save your money. I tried this product every night until I used it all up and it never left any color. In the morning when I took a shower all the color would wash right off my face. I thought this was supposed to be a "tanner" but it's not. What a waist of money!!!!!!!!!
PJ50ish Nashville, TN Pros: absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance, gentle, lightweight, smooth texture Cons: spray is too direct and runny
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
productJunkie
Age Group: 45-54Gender: FSkin Type: combination
Love the color;application disappointing - 5/26/2009 7:13:04 AM I love the color of this tanner after it is applied. Very natural brown. But when it comes out it is NOT a nice even mist, but shoots out with too much force. I had to apply it in bursts on my skin or in the palm of my hand, and smooth it in with my hands, which were a purply blueberry color afterward. I used hand wash and Mary Kay waterproof eye makeup remover and more soap and water to remove. Later in the day, no color on my hands. If this stuff came in a mousse or lotion, it would be great. No overpowering smell and the tan is very natural;no oranginess at all. I applied moisturizer before and left it on my hands which helps.
surferwife San Diego, California Pros: absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance, gentle, lightweight, smooth texture, great tan color, light air brush spray, spray gets everywhere you want to, spray lightly you can always spray again
Overall Rating Overall Rating Price/Value Price/ValueEase of Use Ease of Use
minimalist
Age Group: 45-54Gender: FSkin Type: sensitive
Best I've tried by far - 4/24/2009 6:33:37 AM 2 times I had gotten a salon spray tan but it got too expensive. $50 a pop, and you have to spray every 8 days to keep it up. So I tried different products to see if I could come close to finding that simlar color myself. I used about 8-9 different brands before I tried Fake Bake, which was recommended to me (by the other girls in the salon where I used to get sprayed - I told them I had to stop using the "salon spray" because it was too expensive). I then tried the Fake Bake they recommended and was so impressed I ordered more the next day from my salon. I now get a natural looking tan with "no" orange or "no" yellow color. I had almost given up until I found this product. I also just found and ordered online the Fake Bake kits, which include either: Self-Tan-Lotion/cond.Oil/scrub or Self-Tan-Foam/cond. Oil/scrub and I also ordered the Fake Bake "face" tanner. Right now I use the regular spray on my face which worked really well but I wanted to try the "face" lotion because it said it gave a "deeper" tan (also the foam and lotion). I can't wait to get them and try them too. I would highly recommend these prdoucts to anyone who's looking for that natural color tan. It's so easy to use and no terrible odor either. I spray at night and go to sleep, then shower off in the morning and I'm good to go. I'm a 48 year old housewife with blond hair, very fair skin, I don't tan I burn plus I just don't like laying out in the sun. My husband is a surfer, so I always felt like a ghost standing next to him. Also, now that's it's almost summer I like to wear shorts on our hikes but usually fell so selfconscience because of my white legs, so I tried the fake approach and love it! I've had so many compliments on my "tan". I've tried Loreal, Neutrogena, Jergins, Nivea, Banana Boat, so many others I can't remember them all right now but at least 8-9. I finally found my favorite color in Fake Bake!!!
Elizabeth
Overall Rating Overall Rating

washes off - 12/19/2008 3:58:53 AM this product gave me a nice tan it looks great but as soon as i hit the shower, it comes right off. A waste of money.
L from Sweden
Overall Rating Overall Rating

The best ever!!! - 11/27/2008 10:40:33 AM This is the best selftanning I ever tried, and belive me I tried a lot of those! It gives a natural nice tan,looks like you've been on the beach and it's easy to apply, I will never change to anything else, this product is topclass and I'm stuck, I will never expose my face in the sun and sunbeds again cause Fekebake Xtreme is the solution! Thanks for this super product.
Kat
Overall Rating Overall Rating

Mixed bag - 10/10/2008 10:39:17 AM I'm very fair, so I only go for a really light fake tan. And, a coat of this does give a nice, light, natural looking tan with no streaks. But, prepare yourself, because the first time you put it on you'll be shocked at the "tint" that allows you to make sure you apply it evenly. It's as dark as tar, and as you're rubbing (and rubbing, and rubbing) it on, it looks, well, really dirty and bad. If you're willing to take a REALLY LONG TIME to get it on evenly, and you wait a REALLY LONG TIME before you go to bed, then when you wash it off you do have a nice looking fake tan. But, if I wanted a dark tan, I don't think I'd be willing to go through this over and over. Even though I did get a nice, light fake tan from it, I'll probably go back to Peter Thomas Roth self-tanner, as it's also a beautiful, light natural looking tan, without the goopy grossness of this product. However, I don't think the Roth product would be all that great if you wanted a really dramatic fake tan.
Diane
Overall Rating Overall Rating

Best Tanning - 10/10/2008 5:33:25 AM I love it! In 1 minute I have an amazing deep, natural, gorgeous tan. Doesn't have that chemical smell either. Thank you!
« prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9-13 | next »

Save up to $50 | Use code SAVE »
Holiday Clearance | Save on overstock, seasonal and discontinued items — See Details »
FREE full size Nutrient Toner ($34 Value). Details »
FREE Loose Setting Powder and Cosmetic Bag ($27 Value). Details »
Skin Care Regimen »
2 steps to a new you — My Beauty Advisor

help

about

share

HACKER SAFE certified sites prevent over 99.9% of hacker crime.
BBBOnLine Reliability Seal
TRUSTe online privacy certification
Stella Service
SEE ALL    
SEE ALL